Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
OK correct me if I'm wrong here but a squad that has a priest in it always counts as moving and always has to assault right? Does this mean that lasgun/plasmagun guardsmen can never fire twice if there's a priest in their squad?
If they can, then is it possible, seeing as you can't measure before oyu shoot, to fire twice and then be forced to assault by the priest? That would be pretty cool...
yes it would. though knowing GW, you can't. i'd say you just can't rapid fire, you just have to assault, which probably just means no shooting. since it says you HAVE to charge, i guess that means no shootimg rf since that would nullify the rule. well, i know i'm not giving priest to normal squads! OK men, charge the defiler! guess he is only good for cc command squads.
LO Music Clan Member
thou shalt not put thy hand up, break thy wrist, put it to thy chest, and bite thy ear in front of the emperor
-codex astartes of the holy space marines
If only that were true..
Sadly, this question came up in the most recent Space Wolf FAQ because there is a particular unit in their army list that always has to charge or something like that and GW ruled that you cannot fire with them. Actually, I'm not even sure it was the SW FAQ for certain, but I think that's where I read it. It was in the last Chapter Approved anyhow.
In MY opinion, which is not GW's opinion, if you are forced to charge then that isn't your fault. Instead that's the rules fault and you should still be able to shoot or rapid fire first.
Yeah, paying an extra 40 points for a priest should make a guard squad better, not worse, seeing as it's a legitimate part of their army list.
That also means the "one priest may take a plasma gun" thing is a bit sucky. He gets a plasma gun without rapid fire.
Oh well, at least they can still shoot their melta guns. I'm using him in a remnant squad that has a meltagun, vet with meltabombs and the priest has a bolter/melta combi for suicidal tankbusting.
Still a bit lame though, no rapid fire.
If you fire a RapidFire weapon, you may not Charge. That means even if you only fire once, you can't charge.
However, I think a Command squad w/ a Priest *can* rapid fire and then cannot charge. Correct me if i am wrong (and i don't have my dex on hand). But i believe the rule is that
a) the squad always counts as moving
b) if the squad can, they *must* charge
you can move and fire rapidfire weapons
if you rapidfire you cannot charge.
so, i see it that you can move and shoot, but then no charge. i don't see anything that would lead me to think that you can Never fire rapidfire weapons.
of course the obvious solution is to just give everyone pistols.
I think that this was cleared up in an FAQ by games workshop it the unit is within 6" of the enemy and able to charge then it cannot rapid fire, as the priest forces the unit to charge. Otherwise you follow the normal rapid fire rules.
Originally Posted by Mikhail The Heretic
checked the IG FAQ 4.0 (is there a 4.1??).
It mentioned nothing about this.
You have to realize that the IG dex was written with 3ed rules. Back then you could move and fire and assault any weapon except for heavy weapons (and since the squad always counts as moving, HW never can fire). So the squad could always assault if w/in 6".
However, In 4ed, if you fire a "rapidfire" weapon, you may not assault. I have not seen a rule stating that you cannot fire rapidfire weapons if you have a priest and are within' 6". and i have not seen a rule that allows a priest to ingnore the "rapidfire = no assault" rule.
So as far as i can tell. You can fire rapidfire weapons and have a priest w/in' 6" of enemy, and you can't assault.