Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Forward by Knape --- I am letting this stay open on two conditions. 1) No flaming of other members for disagreeing with you. 2) Any point in the discusson you make should be backed up with evidence by quoting page numbers in books. Not random, "well this is what i heard" postsOriginally Posted by Chaosbrynn
Even though it is to tempt the wrath of the mod, no.
There is absolutely no statement in the codex that limits the number of weapons a model can carry, and closing the thread won't change that. If it's really there, provide a page number and a quote--don't just go locking discussions so that you can have your last--incorrect--word.
Edit by Knape: correcting quote tags
Last edited by Knape97; September 22nd, 2005 at 22:40.
Well I don't know about the SM codex, but as for the CSM codex.
Page 16, top box under "Weapons".
It states that a model may only carry two weapons, only one of which may be two handed.
Not satisfied? Here...more reference.
IG codex page 34, italic text top of page
DH codex page 16, text top of page
WH codex page 20, text top of page
Ork codex page 7, second paragraph
DE codex (2nd ed) page 5, text top of page
and KABLAMM old SM codex page 6, top of page.
Are you saying there is no such restriction on SM's? :huh:
If not I'll fall to the floor and make a scene, kicking and crying and saying you touched me in a bad place....
If it's not written down, it's a mistake and should be added.
Last edited by PrOtOcoN; September 22nd, 2005 at 18:17.
Your fluffraping hurts my eyes. - TehDarkPredator
Thank you proto i so needed that laugh this morning, ....."touch me in a place"......classic
I agree if it isn't in the codex it needs to be put in there, otherwise rule "lawyers" could seriously annoy a lot of peeps,
I also agree that, instead of locking a thread, explain.........especially when threads like real world vs IG are allowed to go on for ever and for ever......lol, or a thread gets locked cause a poor sob doesnt have the bgb.........and asks a question........
Anyways i would like to know what page in the codex it says it to, since my codex is currently sitting at home,
Indeed, Proto, that's a very good start--far and away the best argument yet for that position. Thanks.
The irritating point was not that you all thought you were right, it's that no one bothered to post any sort of evidence or argument aside from 'no, that's not how it works'. You still don't offer anything conclusive, but what you do offer can be used to infer, not entirely irrationally, that the Space Marine codex should have such a line, even if it, in fact, does not.
No one else even bothered to do that.
Far be it from me to question if you've checked...but
Are you absolutely sure it does not say anywhere? Above the armory, in a side box?
On the fluff aspects...I see marines being able to carry loads of weapons, from knives to lascannons...So I'd not be surprised seeing a depiction of a marine having two bolters hanging by his sides slung by straps, revving a chainsword holding a combi-melta as well as having somesort of cut down autocannon on his back. :cool:
But since we need to represent "units" of fighters we can't do that in WH40K EXCEPT with special characters and models...yippee!
I understand where you are coming from with this...but everything seems to point to the existance of a set weapon limit.
Hope this has calmed you and everyone else, down...now let's all just slip into the hot tub and chill out as we work out any kinks there might be.
Your fluffraping hurts my eyes. - TehDarkPredator
The thing that made me really laugh was the tyrade of the first post of the thread, that I had visions of Bean turning into a Bloodthirster and raving about the amount of weapons allowed on a character.
Then a small little Gretchen named Knape popping out from the side to say -
"Edit by Knape - Correcting quote tags"
Lol dunno why but i creased :lol:
I watched a snail crawl along the edge of a straight razor. That's my dream. That's my nightmare. Crawling, slithering, along the edge of a straight... razor... and surviving.
Sorry, Knape. for whatever reason my home computer, won't let me post anything with an HTML quote tag in it (or anything over about a paragraph long). So, I've taken to using traditional quotes instead. Thanks for editing that, but please don't mock me about it--it really isn't my fault.
To Protocon: I have read the book carefully. It is always possible that I haven't read it carefully enough, but after reading the whole thing, multiple times through, looking for just such an element, I feel fairly confident in my conclusion. However, it is unfortunately entirely impractical to demonstrate the lack of something in a text--short of writing out the whole text (which would be illegal as well as impractical). Thus why I asked those members who were so certain that it was in there to demonstrate it--as such a demonstration is, relatively, exceedingly simple.
Heh, np for correcting the tags. Your post confused the hell outa me when I didnt get what you were quoting. ^_^
Anywho. Having had a quick look through CodexM and the BGB, while there is the note that you can only choose two weapons from the SM armour, there are no comments that say they can only carry two weapons, nor any comments that say you replace existing equipment when you choose stuff from the armoury.
So, long and short of it is that as far as i can tell, SM's with access to the armoury may end up with more than 2 weapons.
I am assuming that this discussion is about the amount of weapons allowed for SM characters...
First of all, anyone who has been to a GW tournament will tell you that you can only have 2 weapons per model.In the first sentence on P. 22 of the SM codex, it very specifically says that models with access to the armory can have up to 2 weapons, one of which can be 2 handed. If you argue against this with force weapons and croziuses from librarians and chaplains, the codex says that they "may select up to two weapons..." but it doesn't say 2 weapons from the armory, so you couldn't take the crozius and 2 more weapons. It would be assumed that the crozius or force weapon is already "selected"There is absolutely no statement in the codex that limits the number of weapons a model can carryCase closed, then.It is always possible that I haven't read it carefully enough
In all honesty, I believe that threads discussing the attempt to find loopholes in the codex and BGB shouldn't be allowed on LO, because there are so many opinions on the matter and it is very difficult to get everyone to see things your way (and you just know you're right).
damn i was just about to say that but thank god someone did it is so blatenly obvious!!!
"Pray WE dont take you alive" - Me to all you noob space marine collectors