Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, the rules are very vague on this and I wanted to know what everyone else thought.
With all the armies that I know of, troopers can only have one two handed weapon, yet under the listing for fire support squads it says they all have lasguns and may have missile launchers etc. It says under weapons "lasguns. Three may be equipped with bla bla bla" So then do these troopers have two two-handed weapons?
Do the HW troopers in the line squads have them too? It says they do, and that's the way we've been playing it, but it seems odd.
Obviously, the only time this matters anyway is if the squad has moved.
yes they do have lasguns and the one not using a heavy weapon(the loader) can us it
"My troops can eat their belts. But my tanks gotta have gas."
General George S. Patton
"They have a gun called the death arc!They are now my favorite 40k race!"me quoting about the xenarch
The home page of my army
Well, yes, but I was wondering if say, a squad of ten guys with a missile launcher moves to within twelve inches of a squad- because they moved, the heavy weapon guy couldn't fire his missile launcher, but could he legally fire a lasgun?Originally Posted by jancz
I play my heavy weapons as there isn't a team at all. One guy manages the heavy weapon, the "loader" fires his lasgun while the heavy weapon guy has no other weapon at all.
The Heavy Weapon replaces the Lasgun, I believe. Fluff-wise, it's basically saying he's occupied with carrying the gun and can't fire.
Burn the land and boil the sea. You can't take the sky from me.
Member of the Canadian Clan, eh.
Mech Tau Cadre: 2000 points, needs paint and magnets.
Paladins of Avalon (SW):-1500 points, needs paint.
There is no "offical" ruling on this.
If you go by the "letter" of the rule, then they still (both) keep their lasguns and technically the "gunner" may fire his lasgun.
however, this is still a highly debated issue and can cause some heated arguements (hehe or at least disagreements).
If you do decide to play with it, then you *must* have the lasgun modeled on the gunner.
All my HW gunners have a lasgun either next to them or on their back, but I don't play that i can move and shoot with them because my gaming group doesn't like the idea...
I guess they've cottoned on to the fact that lasguns can kill, amazing. :p
... only triumph could turn pooing his pants into a good thing..
From the third edition rule book on page 167, paraphrased so mods leave it alone please, but i can't find it in the BGB so use it as you will but I think the Guardsman would leave it at home because the heavy weapon is heavy and he wouldn't take th extra weightIf you upgrade then the models "standard" weapon is lost
Your group should make a decision and play it consistently. This one could go either way, but I think that a heavy weapon gunner sacrifices their lasgun. Unless heavy weapons are one-handed, a lasgun and a heavy weapon violates the two two-handed weapon rule. Also, when I look at the Steel Legion lascannon, I feel lucky that even one of the crew is able to fire a lasgun while lugging that beast around. Not that that's a good basis for rules interpretation, but hey.