Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey guys. I've been looking through the different 40k armies and I finally decided to do Daemonhunters. I've never played Daemonhunters before. Are there any units that I should definitely have in my army?
I suggest you look through this forum for similar threads, read the DH tactica posted on LO, and look at army lists in the army list forum for ideas.
To answer your question bluntly, no there are not any DH units you definitely should use.
The long version of that answer is that there are so many different kinds of DH armies, and many of which do not use the same units. You've got to be more specific than "I like DH, what should I use?".
For example, you can make a Puritan DH army (uses Grey Knights) or a Radical DH army (no GK, uses Daemonhosts). Into either of these armies you can induct IG or SM (although SM cannot be there if GK are there). You can also ally Witch Hunters onto any of these armies (again, there are restrictions, DH codex page 21). Right there you basically have four full codecies worth of units to choose from. So no, there is no single "must have" unit.
On the subject of allies and inducted IG etc. Do you have to tell the guy your playing that your are allying with SM or inducting IG? I mean, say if I am having a game with friends and you have to say what army your bringing. If I say I'm bringing DH but have inducted IG and don't tell him, do you think thats "right"?
I am probably sentancing this completley wrong, but I hope you get what I'm saying .
On-Topic, I believe Grey Knights are a must have really, only if your not doing a radical. But thats my opinion. Everyones different. I'd like to try out a radical army. Mix and match, you'll find out yourself what you like and don't like.
It may be a bit shifty, but there's nothing against it rules-wise. Inducted IG/SM don't actually count as a seperate army, they're part of your core list in a DH or WH force. That would be like telling someone that you're playing Chaos Marines, with a detachment of Berserkers.On the subject of allies and inducted IG etc. Do you have to tell the guy your playing that your are allying with SM or inducting IG? I mean, say if I am having a game with friends and you have to say what army your bringing. If I say I'm bringing DH but have inducted IG and don't tell him, do you think thats "right"?