Librarium Online Forums banner

First Time Daemon Hunter Army P.S. I am a Noob

1K views 20 replies 10 participants last post by  nichodemus10 
#1 ·
I am going to start a Daemon Hunter army My buy list is going to be something like this-

1x Ordo Malleus Inquisitor Lord

1x Grey Knight Terminators Box

1x Cadian Kasrkin Box

2x Grey Knights

1x Dreadnought

Is this a good idea, or is it too much at one time. I am looking to go for a Inquisitor Army. Should I buy all of this at once, or is it too much too handle? I need feedback badly.

#2 ·
I personally would skip the Inquisitor and one box of Grey Knights for now and pick up some GK and Kasrkin special weapons blisters (GK with Psycannon, Kasrkin with plasma guns and meltaguns). That brings it to about 730 points worth of models, plus some for wargear, which is well beyond the 400/500-point minimum. Three reasons:

1. The Inquisitor Lord MUST take a retinue. This means you'll have to find (and likely convert) models for all of the weapons you want the retinue to take. Browse through the forums and the Games Workshop site until you find a set of Inquisitor and Henchmen you like, then build towards that one. in the meantime, buy your first 500-750 points and get those painted first.

2. The Grey Knight boxes come with Incinerators which, while powerful, are really only reliable when in a squad mounted in a Grey Knight Land Raider. Skip the second box for now and pick up a couple of GKs with the more versatile and reliable Psycannon.

3. Kasrkin boxes are about the most expensive box I bought (except for a Land Raider), but they come with mixed special weapons. Either get two of these (lots of grenade launchers will give just about any non-power-armored foe headaches) or pick up some special weapons so that you can make squads designed to hunt heavy armor.