Acolytes vs. Vindicare - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member Inquisitor Solexus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    232
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Acolytes vs. Vindicare

    For some reason, the Vindicare Assassin is popular at my local game store. One question will inevitably arise: the Vindicare's Marksman special rule states it can target specific models in a squad, yet an Inquisitor can redirect wounds he takes to his Acolytes. If a Vindicare targets an Inquisitor with Acolytes, which special rule takes precedence?

    "HQ, my LOS is blocked by a soda bottle. I'm moving to unmask my guns."
    "Negative! The soda bottle is the Carnifex!"
    "Dang proxy models!"
    -Cmdr. Kren, www.tsoalr.com

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Xiahou Dun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Age
    32
    Posts
    696
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    54 (x2)

    The vindicare rule is that it can target any person in a squad. So he can target the inquisitor, but when he gets a wound there's nothing to stop the inquisitor from redirecting that wound onto one of his acolytes. At least that's how I see it.
    "You challenge me knowing that I am Xiahou Dun!?"
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  4. #3
    Son of LO mEGALOMANIAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cranston, RI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x8)

    Xiahou is correct - the vindicare is still picking out and shooting at the Inquisitor. The Inquisitor just happens to toss a hapless trainee in the path of the bullet.

  5. #4
    Simple Green. Emp.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    969
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    63 (x2)

    If you look in the FAQ it states, the Inquisitor may always pass wounds onto his accolytes provided he has sufficient accolytes to do so. So, I agree with the above statements, the accolytes take precedence.
    5th E Sand(Grey) Knights: 11-3 (retired) 5th E Eldar: 37-4 (retired) 5th E Wolves 5-0

  6. #5
    Senior Member isitused's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,109
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x3)

    Does the same apply for a Tau shield/gun drone taking a hit for an etheral?

    Also, does anyone els ever infiltrate their vindicare within 12'' so he can fire his pistol twice at a marine unit and kill their heavy and special weapons?
    -GM
    I put the Laughter back into Slaughter.
    Sons of Prometheus <click>
    Children of Murder <clic>

  7. #6
    Member Inquisitor Solexus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    232
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    ...You can't do that, though. To have LOS he'd have to be 18" away, and he'd be toast.
    "HQ, my LOS is blocked by a soda bottle. I'm moving to unmask my guns."
    "Negative! The soda bottle is the Carnifex!"
    "Dang proxy models!"
    -Cmdr. Kren, www.tsoalr.com

  8. #7
    Simple Green. Emp.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    969
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    63 (x2)

    Infiltrating him wouldn't be best, that also ruins his mask of stealth (makes the enemy roll Xd6*X to see if they could hit him).
    5th E Sand(Grey) Knights: 11-3 (retired) 5th E Eldar: 37-4 (retired) 5th E Wolves 5-0

  9. #8
    The Uncivil Servent Mikhail The Heretic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Scotland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    67 (x2)

    Yep that's the way it works you target with the Vindicare roll to hit then roll to wound if your succesful then the deamonhunters player can then alocate the wound to an acolyte. Think of it as the Acolyte throwing himself in the way (or being thrown) of the shot.


    Horus betrayed the Emperor because the Emperor crushed his favorite puppy with his Land Raider

    Quote Originally Posted by Grephaun
    It's all about real ultimate power redoing the forum skin in pink and plaid

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts