Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Would someone be so kind as to point out where it says a SM commander can take a jump pack? A SM friend of mine was using it, and another SM friend says he couldn't find it anywhere...
Haven't got the book in front of me, but I believe you just buy it as wargear.
It says under the commander entry that "A commander may be given any equipment allowed by the space marine armoury". A jump pack is a piece of equipment located in the space marine armoury, and the only thing that stops it being available to him is if he is wearing terminator armour or is on a bike, so if he has those then he may not have a jump pack, but if not he's fine. So there's nothing on the commander entry that actually says "He may be upgraded with a jump pack for x points" but that doesn't stop you from taking them from the armoury. If this was the case, you'd have to have a huge list with all of the weapons on it, under the commander, e.g. -
"The commander may be upgraded with a bolt pistol for +x points, a plasma pistol for +x points, a combi flamer for +x points, a power fists for +x points..."
And so on. So it makes sense, otherwise the codices would be as big as the rulebook.
The only difference between tattooed people and non-tattooed people is that tattooed people are awesome and can kick your ass.
"War does not determine who is right - only who is left."
Remember though, if you select a command squad, the unit must move at the speed of the slowest unit, so if you buy a true command squad, dont get a bike or jump pack, thats probably obvious, but just putting it out their.
don't give GW any bright ideas....Originally Posted by Lordofchange
Bad news for me (IG player) but good news for my SM friend... Thanks guys! :tongue:
Whilst on the subject, is it true that in the relevant 2nd ed codex/rule book there was nothing to stop a terminator suited character taking a jump pack?
I mean before any ammendments in FAQ, White Dwarf etc.
Bit like the assault cannon/cyclone combo on normal termies. You couldn't do that, not even space wolves, even though it didn't say so in the rules.
Imagine a terminator chaplain on a bike with a jump pack. Bonkers....
I can't say I've seen it all but I live for the things that keep me hollow.
That would be pretty nasty, but either the bike or the pack would be useless, because you can't use both at the same time... plus the terminator armor would be too heavy for the both of themOriginally Posted by distortiondave
"I have died a thousand deaths, and I will die a million more..."
itĀ“s not useless because the bike gives you a movement of 12" and the jump pack doubles this.Originally Posted by Rogue-Angel
DonĀ“t mess with the dicegod
No it doesn't, it won't allow you to move 24 inches in one turn. You can move 12 with a bike or 12 with a jump back you can't do both. The only way to move 24 inches is to turbo boost with a bike. Assault marines can use their 6 inch movement or their 12 inch movement from the packs, not both.Originally Posted by dead_raider
I can read now!