Chaplain Assaults - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member DominionWeaponsGroup's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Indiana
    Age
    29
    Posts
    396
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    -66 (x0)

    Chaplain Assaults

    So if a Chaplain assault and dies before the rest of his squad goes, do they still get the re-rolls?

    Take life seriously, its lethal.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Xiahou Dun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Age
    32
    Posts
    696
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    54 (x2)

    I'ts a bit of a tough one. The codex says...

    "Litanies of hate: on a player turn in which he charges into close combat, a chaplain and all members of a squad he has joined, leads or is attached to may re-roll failed rolls to hit"

    So I guess if the chaplain dies it's the "has joined" option, so long as he charges into combat before he dies they should get it.

    Please note that I'm merely using logic here and am not basing this on rules at all... hmm maybe that's a bad idea.
    "You challenge me knowing that I am Xiahou Dun!?"
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota (USA)
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,252
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    75 (x3)

    I agree that you still get the re-rolls. It says if he charges (which he did) all members of the squad he is with get re-rolls. Says nothing about him needing to be alive. And fluff wise I think seeing their spiritual leader die would have a martyr effect that would be even more deadly than just re-rolls to hit.

  5. #4
    Senior Member vulcan raven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Age
    11
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    just like when sanguinius's cup of blood was spilt, a whole blood angel company went death comany and overtook with the black rage they ripped an entire orc army limb from limb. i think they're just oversensitive, with their primarch being a musician and supposedly the most beautiful and all that. no offence intented
    Ok fellows we have a difficult task, so we have to be more deadly than everyday.
    Make mistakes and confuse the enemy - The Doctor
    Tactics are nice but it is violence that wins the day.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Tycho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    The Big Smoke, Australia
    Posts
    909
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x2)

    Yes they would still get theri re rolls because they chaplain was alive when he charged into combat with the squad.

    Cheers,
    Tycho

  7. #6
    Senior Member Zeus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Perth,WA
    Age
    25
    Posts
    329
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    23 (x1)

    Yeah they still get the re rolls because combat is supposed to be fast and a chaplains death is only going to happen after a squads finished its attacks anyway!

    On a different note if your looking for a good assaulting chaplain give him a jump pack and attach him to an assault squad!

    zeus
    Fear The Wrath Of The ANZAC Clan!
    All Bow For The Anime Clan!
    When did I realise I was God?
    Well one day I was praying and I realised...
    I was talking to myself!
    Primarch Of The Iron Clan

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Age
    31
    Posts
    771
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    -61 (x0)

    Actually, casualties are removed in initiative order. So, if a chaplain charges into a group of Genestealers, or an enemy squad led by a librarian (as happened in the instance to which DWG refers) it's quite possible for the chaplain to die before the rest of the squad gets to make their attacks.

  9. #8
    LO Zealot Chaosbrynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,810
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    71 (x4)

    This is true, but they would still receive the benefit from the chaplain as when they charged the chaplain was leading them. They would lose fearless as soon as he perishes however.
    Mentor of Space Marine Commanders far and wide.

    Efficiency VS Point Cost VS Ease Of Use - Your best bets:

    1) Chaplain led Assault squad - 2 plasma pistols, powerfisted sergeant

    2) 8 man Devastator squad - 4 missile launchers

    3) Land Speeder Tornado - HB + AC

  10. #9
    Member GrandMasterNemesiiii's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    pa,usa
    Age
    31
    Posts
    169
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    who the hell in thier right mind would charge a squad of stealers or another assualt squad led by a lib w/ a familiar???

    certainly not i
    Ghost's of Terra
    trait chapter

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Age
    31
    Posts
    771
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    -61 (x0)

    That's almost entirely beside the point. What actually happened was that the chaplain engaged the librarian while the rest of the squad engaged the rest of the other squad. The chaplain and librarian killed each other off at ish five (no familiar) which isn't, really, a bad or terribly unlikely trade at all.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts