Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This probably only requires a simple answer.
The exorcist counts as a sisters of battle unit, right? So you can't use it if you have allied space marines?
No it doesnt. No vehicles do. The Immolater has a special rule saying it cannot be used unless Adepta Sororitas are present, and as Adepta Sororitas and Space Marines cannot be in the same army this counts the Immolater out if you use allied Marines, but the Exorcist has no such rule.
The Exorcist can be used all the time, Marines or not.
Even if the Codex lists the crew of the Exorcist as Battle Sisters?Originally Posted by Inquisitor_Black_Venom
"The sword that takes life gives life."
That's what I thought. Even if Inquisitor_Black_Venom is right I think it would be abit weak of me (fluffwise) to have a lone exorcist supported by a bunch of marines.
Opponent: "Aren't exorcists incredibly rare? Why would one be deployed on it's own without at least a few sisters to support it?"
Me: "The, uh, the whole order died except for this one exorcist which broke down on the way to the battle, and now cruises around with my inquisitor. And some marines."
Opponent: "But wouldn't it just be shipped to another convent for re-allocation? how does it function without it's chain of command?"
Me: "Uh, I'll be right back." *jumps out window to avoid further questions*
OH MY GOD!
STOP PUSSY-FOOTING AROUND AND JUST USE THE THING ALREADY!!! (just kidding)
Seriously, if you're feelling guilty over it, then take an Inquisitor LORD and paint him up to look like he's really rich. Or waste a few points on a useless retinue. As to the rarity of an Exorcist, I say we left those days behind in 3rd edition when the the WH codex was actually competitive, and when vehicle damage charts were a little closer to realistic then the ridiculasness they are now, and when the Assault Cannon was still an Assault Cannon instead of a tactical nuke, and before the Monolith Abomination (GW's biggest offense to game imbalance to date) started appearing on every streetcorner in the 40K universe. As far as I'm concerned, you're just keeping pace with the insanity.
If a lowly NON-LORD Inquisitor can take a LandRaider for his joy-ride, then an Exorcist is certainly within his grasp. If anyone complains, take two Exorcists the next time, and make sure that they know you have a THIRD exorcist nearing completion just in case they want to complain some more. And GOD FORBID a Necron player complains about it.
Yeah but is it legal? Or is it disallowed because of the "no marines with sisters" rule?
Its legal. Not fluffy IMHO, but legal. That deal only applies to the Immolater.
I don't even know where everyone gets the super-rare from. The little textbox next to the Exorcist Rules only says its really old.
Use 3 Exorcists if you want to, and its fluffy too. Any Inquisitor would want that "potent, divine symbol of the power of the Emperor". And none want to argue with a guy who can get you burned.
"And that, my liege, is how we know the earth to be banana-shaped"
As long as the HQ and two Troops are Marines, you can use Sisters with Marines no problem.Originally Posted by robotnik
"The sword that takes life gives life."
Robot-- just to keep you on track:
If Marines ally themselves to a WH parent, there may be no Adepta Sorritas units present. Adepta Sorritas are: Cannoness, Paletine, Celestians, Seraphim, Battle Sisters, Dominions, and Retributors. Basicly, any girl in power armor who is capable of faith.
I see nothing that suggests any vehicle (or any of its upgrades) ever counts as an Adepta Sorritas unit.
So, that leaves you with Arco Flagelants, Repentia (including Mistress), Priests, Inquisitors, Inquisitor Retinue members, all Assasins, Zealots (if local rules permit), Immolator (taken as a heavy slot of course), Exorcist, Orbital Strike, Penetent Engines, and special character Inquisitor Karamazov.
Priest requirement still still apply to Arcos, P-Engines
Inquis requirement still applies to Assasin(s) & Orbital strike
Instead of thinking about "don'ts" of fluff, think in terms of how colorful an array of wierdos that you have at your disposal and have some fun.