Stupid callidus question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    116
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Stupid callidus question

    I am pretty sure i know the answer to this question before i ask it but it seems so incredebly stupid that i feel the need to ask it anyways, does the callidus assassin count as having an extra hand weapon from the neural shredder?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Blue Wave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Victoria B.C
    Age
    27
    Posts
    200
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    17 (x1)

    Yes, because the neural shedder is a pistol, isn't it?
    One Shot, One Kill

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    no, its not. otherwise it would say 'pistol' in its weapon profile.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    116
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Was hoping the poison blades might count as an extra hand weapon, so stupid to not give an extra hand weapon to such an amazing CC specialist...

  6. #5
    LO Zealot Grey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waterloo, Ont.
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,020
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    77 (x3)

    Deliberate.

    I think they deliberately didn't in order to make her less ridiculous.

    I mean come on, she comes out from anywhere and ignores ALL saves in HtH. With more attacks you #1. Would never take the eversor. #2. Would always take her in any list that you could unless she #3. Cost more points.
    "No one has a monopoly on wisdom."-S.W.G.

    Fluff Master Clan initiate.

    "I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones."-A.E.

    "Before you embark on a journey of revenge, dig two graves."-C.

    New 40K missions here.

  7. #6
    Member ROCKYrocks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    cheesy SWITZERLAND
    Age
    28
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Grey
    I think they deliberately didn't in order to make her less ridiculous.

    I mean come on, she comes out from anywhere and ignores ALL saves in HtH. With more attacks you #1. Would never take the eversor. #2. Would always take her in any list that you could unless she #3. Cost more points.
    and as everybody (should) know/s:

    higher point cost = higher price
    Thought for the day:
    A ship in harbor is safe - but that is not what ships are for.

  8. #7
    Too Sexy For My Whirlwind Sabe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Edmonton,AB
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    68 (x3)

    At my hobby store we never do give her the extra CCW. Nothing in her profile specifically says sher ges one and neither the shredder or the P-blades say they count as one.

    One more reason to take the Eversor, who does get the +1 attack for 2 weapons...and god willing 6 more on the charge. Ah eversor....

  9. #8
    Member Ryiax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Aust.
    Age
    36
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    An Eversor? why bother? 95 points with normal deployment (or infiltrate should the rules allow it - in that case... Auspex anyone?) to any one worth there salt all he's gunna achieve is to "bio-melt" a puddle in the dirt from the rapid fire.

    Callidus is a better option, though not a pistol, it is an assault weapon and you can't lose any attacks when firing and charging, not to mention the ability to tie up and kill heavy weapon squads, kill critical synapse creatures, knock off the Tau etheral, one last annoying attack, then tying up a squad to stop it from shooting then jumping back and re-assaulting for another chance to shoot and another 4 attacks with a no save sword thats worth an additional 25 points.
    So all in all, the best of assassins for example
    Culexus = No Psykers, no point.

    Eversor = Has to make combat to do anything, has 2 pistols with a range of 12" with AP 5 & 6 respectively, useless weapon i.e. not much point if can already charge at that range.

    Vindicare = 1 shot per turn so max 6 shots in a normal game (wow a whole 110 points to kill 70 points worth of troopers) Special Ammo the only one worth shooting is the Turbo Penetrator possibly through the front of a Land Raider or a hard time cutting through paper if you roll 1's, the suit will not stop him from being charged and he can't fight HTH to save his life.

  10. #9
    Member Inquisitor Solexus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    232
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Ryiax
    An Eversor? why bother? XX points with normal deployment (or infiltrate should the rules allow it - in that case... Auspex anyone?) to any one worth there salt all he's gunna achieve is to "bio-melt" a puddle in the dirt from the rapid fire.

    Culexus = No Psykers, no point.

    Eversor = Has to make combat to do anything, has 2 pistols with a range of 12" with AP 5 & 6 respectively, useless weapon i.e. not much point if can already charge at that range.

    Vindicare = 1 shot per turn so max 6 shots in a normal game (wow a whole 110 points to kill 70 points worth of troopers) Special Ammo the only one worth shooting is the Turbo Penetrator possibly through the front of a Land Raider or a hard time cutting through paper if you roll 1's, the suit will not stop him from being charged and he can't fight HTH to save his life.
    ...okay, think for a moment. The Callidus costs the most points, so of course she's going to be the easiest one to use and have the wackiest equipment. Have you ever played her against Necrons, though? Her Shredder wounds them ALL only on a 6. On the other hand, 'crons don't have Auspexes and are very vulnerable to power weapon attacks, of which the Eversor gets a lot more.

    Culexus: See the new Tyranid codex? All Synapse Creatures are Psykers now, so he could potentially fire 8+ shots at a Warrior brood and give them a good chance of falling back (Soulless rule). Against Chaos, he reduces your enemies' Ld, making them fall back more easily (CSM don't get And They Shall Know No Fear) and can shoot Chaos Sorcereors and other psykers out of units. True, he's largely there for fluff reasons, but in the right spot he's scary.

    Eversor: Um...did you read the whole unit entry? He charges 12" and can fire his pistol twice and still charge (anything that always counts as stationary for firing a weapon can still charge after firing the weapon); this means that your opponent will have a hard time getting away from this guy, no matter how far away he starts. He can wound anything on a 4+ (C'tan, Wraithlords, Hive Tyrants, Carnifexes, etc.) and has a power weapon. If you place him carefully, he can tear up whole squads.

    Vindicare: Remember the Marksman rule. If he scores, say, 4 wounds in a game (3 normally and one for Hellfire), and they are on:

    Assault Marine Sergeant with power fist
    Terminator Sergeant with power fist
    Space Marine Dreadnought with assault cannon (Turbo-Penetrator)
    Force Commander with, say, 75 points of wargear

    Since you get half an IC's points for wounding him, that could be upwards of 250 points! And each time you shoot a special weapon out of a squad you make it less of a threat to your Grey Knights (who hate power weapons) and vehicles (power fists, assault cannon, etc.). Also, with a 36" range, your opponent isn't going to want to bring anything with a tooled-up unit leader anywhere near this guy (these are mostly in SM, CSM, Eldar)...a massive tactical advantage, especially if another shooty squad (GK Purgation squad, Inquisitor with retinue, etc) is nearby. Just get him in a good spot and let your opponent scramble around him...just remember to back him up with something.
    Last edited by Inquisitor Solexus; December 13th, 2005 at 18:18.
    "HQ, my LOS is blocked by a soda bottle. I'm moving to unmask my guns."
    "Negative! The soda bottle is the Carnifex!"
    "Dang proxy models!"
    -Cmdr. Kren, www.tsoalr.com

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Scotch Plains, NJ, USA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    953
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x2)

    The general concensus from GW is you only get extra attacks for purchased wargear. All weapons included by the entry definition have already been included in their statline. Necron wraiths have "claws and barbed tail" but get no two-weapon bonus. Tyranid Genestealers have "rending claws" but get no two-weapon bonus. Therefore, any extra attacks the Callidus gets for the weapons in its profile should already be included in their profile.
    I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts