Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a question about Psycannon Bolts: is this legal?> Grey Knight Dreadnought W/ TL Lazcannon, Sacred Hull, and Psycannon Bolts?
They come, they eat, they leave...
Yes it is legal, but I believe you think that your lascannon will ignore all saves, which is not true.
Only bolts fired from bolters, boltpistols, heavy bolters, and storm bolters get the advantage of the psycannon bolts. Which means you could take something down with the lascannon leaving it's invulnurable save, and shoot at the same thing leaving its regular save from the storm bolter that is on the DCCW.
Legal - Yes
As good as you thought - No
The reason I asked the question was because I was wondering if I had to take a another Storm Bolter or a Heavy Bolter. But thanks, It does answer my question. :-)Originally Posted by nichodemus10
They come, they eat, they leave...
I've always wanted to try this with the Psycannon bolts on a Twin Linked Heavy Bolter, SB GK Dreadnought.
"No one has a monopoly on wisdom."-S.W.G.
Fluff Master Clan initiate.
"I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones."-A.E.
"Before you embark on a journey of revenge, dig two graves."-C.
New 40K missions here.
Not totally true. Psycannon bolts work differently for vehicles and infantry:Only bolts fired from bolters, boltpistols, heavy bolters, and storm bolters get the advantage of the psycannon bolts.
* The Infantry version works only on storm bolters, bolters, bolt pistols, and combi-weapons.
* The Vehicle version works only on stormbolters and heavy bolters. So you can't use them, for example, with a LRC's Hurricane Bolters.
Which, I'm sure, makes all of us DH players quite sad. If only we could my friends.Originally Posted by mEGALOMANIAC
I find it sort of funny that even though its the same type of ammo you can't use it for every time of gun that uses that ammo. I understand why they're doing it from a balance perspective, but man, it's a little off kilter if you ask me.
You think the are doing it for balance? HAHA...I think they are doing it because they forgot about the hurricane bolters. I think that is the only way that it would be cost effective to use.
The whole LR thing is kinda confusing overall, I mean, do we pay for our LR or the SM's, and then after that, which one do we get? Meh. I don't use them, so it doesn't matter.
I've never really used Psycannon Bolts. As my understanding of the DH list has evolved, the only units that still have bolt weapons are units that the upgrade would be cost-innefective and pointless on. However, if you happen to be playing, say, Tau or Carapace Armor IG, and you can manage to sacrifice this-or-that unit, they could come in handy...
A man's at odds to know his mind, for his mind is aught he has to know it with.
Well, I'd say that was for balance. An IST's points for a couple AP4 shots that ignore invul saves? It's one of those "only really useful against Daemons" things, like Sacred Hull. But getting 12 twin-linked AP4 shots? :w00t:!I think that's worth a LOT more than the points you'd spend. Between that and the assault cannon and "assault ramp" rule, the GKLRC would just be too much of an anti-infantry behemoth for its point cost, or at least the upgrade's cost.Originally Posted by mEGALOMANIAC
"HQ, my LOS is blocked by a soda bottle. I'm moving to unmask my guns."
"Negative! The soda bottle is the Carnifex!"
"Dang proxy models!"
-Cmdr. Kren, www.tsoalr.com