Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Here is the deal - I played agains a Guardsman. I managed to get my Predator Annihilator on the side of his Chimera (armor-10). I fired the TL lascannon - HIT. Then I rolled 1 which would have been a glancing hit. So my oponent starts talking about how that is negated beacuse 1 allways misses. Ok 1 allways misses but I think that is only worth for wounding. Please tell me that I am right so I can pulverize him with an imaginary Power Fist:yes:
1 always doesn't miss. Where did he get that from?
Hes doing a pretty crappy job of covering his ass.
A roll of a 1 is only a failure when it is listed as such (see cover saves). The rules for Armour penetration say that you add the strength to the roll of a D6 - and does not note that rolling a 1 is a failure. 9 + 1 (on a D6) still fulfils the condition for a glancing hit.
I would actually go so far to say that the "1 is always a failure" only applies in fantasy, not 40k (where there are more modifiers).
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
some ppl use 1 always fails as a house rule, but its definately not official
Dreadnought, don't pulverise the cheater with an imaginery power fist, do it with a real one, here have mine...
*hands over powerfist*
Yeah, I don't no what rule he read, but 9+1=10, a glancing hit
One Shot, One Kill
Dread you should kick your friend in the face.
1 is not always a failure. 1 is always a MISS. But since armor penetration doesn't involve hitting or missing, the 1 is still valid, and it was indeed a glancing hit.
"I have died a thousand deaths, and I will die a million more..."
unless you're taking a toughness/iniative/strength test where a roll of 6 is a failure:tongue:Originally Posted by Rork
But yeah, in 40k there's no such rule about ones being failures. Actually I think it's impossible to get something where rolling a one would mean success. (besides armor penetration and leadership tests.)
Anyhow, a roll of one always misses, but it appears you already hit. If you shot someone (toughness 3 or 4 or something) with a lascannon, hit, then rolled a one to wound, you would fail. I think that's where your friend is getting confused. He combined the rules for armor penetration and wounding. But, yeah to put it simply you were right and glanced the vehicle.
I can read now!
Gee thank you, combine that with my lightning claw and you have one ass kicked guardistOriginally Posted by The_Outsider