Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey I searched and didn't find anything on this and was wondering if you could take both of these and use them both at the same time.
It would cost 15 points less than a rosarius, and be only slightly worse. However some people might argue that you can not use them both in the same turn. If you have an Blessed weapon and a pistol you don't get to use the pistol to get an extra attack, so if you swap the pistol for the protectiva do you get the invulnerable save? Intuitively I would think that you do not, but I don't think it states it anywhere, so I thought I would just check for opinions.
Once I noticed the "2+ invulnerable in cc" trick, I never looked back... :shifty:
It's pretty friggin special.
i don't think you can that, the two handed weapon can't be used with another...
+2 sv is better
sorry but have I missed something?, In my codex is says the praesidium gives a +4 inv save instead of her normal save in close combat once a turn against a model the defender chooses.
my problem is A.) it doesnt sound that great and B.) I fail to see how the 4 becomes 2
I checked the updated FAQ for witchhunters on the GW site and it didnt have a listing for the praesidium protectiva can anyone explain this one a bit more to me?
The 2+ save has nothing to do with the Protectiva; It is her normal save with the Cloak of Aspira. You just have to remember that her save can become invulnerable at the expense of a faith point. And that is nice, but I like to use faith points for offence, and if losing a model can get me two more faith points I say goodbye and lets get some divine guidance...nothing better than a 20 sisters that are going to end up with 3 ap one wounds, I am just saying say goodbye to that that carnifex...because that is 6 wounds if he is in rapid fire range.
Except for the fact you're Canoness has 3 hands, I don't see a problem with that.Originally Posted by nichodemus10
And over there we have the labyrinth guards.
One always lies, one always tells the truth, and one stabs people who ask tricky questions.
Just incase anyone doent get Cbrates Sarcasm - your blessed weapon is 2 handed, the pres prot is 1 handed (read the wargear description) so no - you can not use both during any given assault phase, this is desipte any Wysiwyg conversions!
Everything you have been told is a lie!
why cant she use both? The praesidium is carried in place of a weapon, but the codex states it "is not a weapon as such"
SOa re you saying thunder hammer/storm shield termiescant use bothe either?
2000pts Orks 4-2-1
No, the Thunder Hammer and Storm Shield are each one-handed weapons or pieces of equipment, therefore you can use one of each. The Blessed Weapon is a 2-handed weapon, so it can therefore only ever be used on its own. No other weapon or 1 or 2 handed piece of equipment can ever be used in conjunction with it. The Praesidium Protectiva is clearly specified as taking up space as a 1-handed weapon, so it cannot be used with the BW. The 'not a weapon as such' bit is because it is a shield and so does not count as a CCW, so when used in conjunction with a 1-handed CCW it does not grant an extra attack.
The PP is a useless bit of kit for 10pts. It's drawbacks and limitations are so many for its points cost that you'd be mad to take one instead of a Rosarius or a Cloak of St. Aspira on a Canoness, and it's too expensive for what it is to be economical on a VSS. Even at 5pts it would be marginal, since a Sister needs an Eviscerator or BW to be any good in CC, and its not as if Sisters can't pull out an excellent Inv save for whole squads almost at will. It's like the Sarissa in many ways, cheap, but useless anyway because it doesn't grant an ability which will be of any real value in the game.
True, HOWEVER, if he does manage to get that thing into CC, you are in serious trouble. A carnie can sometimes walk through bolts like a duck in the rain. But a 2+ Invulnerable save in CC can tie him up for the whole game, and an Eviscerator can possibly kill him in a couple of turns. I don't have the math in front of me, but I bet a Cannoness with Eviscerator, Cloak and Faith has excellent chances vs Carnifex in CC, and her chances get even better if she wears a mantle.Originally Posted by nichodemus10
Remember that when you play Nids, you mostly use your faith on his and your HQ. Your basic bolters and flamers don't need much help in killing the rest his army.