Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Kinda defeats the point or not? I'm thinking mainly of Terminator Captains and the like in a Termie Squad HQ unit.
The higher I would be nice, obviously, but it wouldn't be as disasterous as if he was fighting on his own.
I don't have the codex handy, but can Termie HQ's mix and match lightning claws/hammer with assault cannons and storm bolters?
I'm meandering a little...I suppose the question I'm asking is, is it ever acceptable to put a power fist on a IC, regardless of the rest of his equipment/retinue?
I can't say I've seen it all but I live for the things that keep me hollow.
Well, it is feasable sometimes. On two occasions actually. When fighting big creatures you know you just Can't hurt with s4, when attacking vehicles, or when creatures with I6 or higher.
Basically, it can be a very versatile combination if you're willing to pay the points for a combo - powerweapon and powerfist or thunderhammer.
For Vet-sarges: Powerweapon and Powerfist - when attacking big things, you have the benefit of the hidden powerfist. When attacking things with a lower I (like necrons), you can attempt to reduce the nuber of return attacks on your men by hitting first with the powerweapon.
For IC's: Powerweapon and Thunderhammer - This makes the IC extremely versatile. He can rape normal troops and such with the powerweapon, but when faced with a huge creature (like a bloodthirster or such) or a large vehicle (like a landraider), he can still kill it.
It's always been an idea of mine to make a marines army where all vet-sarges have a powerweapon and a powerfist, as a tribute to the original space crusade ^_^
I've been seeing power fists on chaplains to go with their power weapons. It's probably more useful than melta bombs, and if you are up against an enemy with a high initiative, you have nothing to lose. If you are facing off against an enemy that isn't likely to kill your IC, you have nothing to lose, either.
You'd prefer a small chance against a wraithlord than none at all, wouldn't you?
It's a flexible combo, and I've got a guy converted with that combo for my chaos space marines.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
I agree sometimes it can pay off,especially when put onto chaplains because he can join an assault squad with a vet serg with another powerfist.So then they have 8 powerfist attacks with re rolls on the charge..ouch thats gotta hurt hey?
But it is just so expensive and most of the time it isnt worth it.This however Xcil i really disagree on.A vet serg shouldnt ever have both,and doesnt really ever need both.Paying the points to upgrade him to have both make him a 55 point model. If you want to do that you might aswell buy another commander!Originally Posted by Xcil
Combo on IC's can be pretty good if your willing to pay the heft points.
Combo on vets,way to expensive and would never do it.
For the most part, having a Powerfist on an IC is a waste. Why?
1) If he's in solo combat against another tough CC character, they can lop his head off with a power weapon before he can get the 'Fist up.
2) If he's attached to a lesser-hitting unit-IE, a Chaplain with PFist attached to a Tac Squad, they can knock off the Chaplain quickly, denying the unit both a heavy hitter in CC and the morale bonuses he gives.
The Chaplain is about the only unit I would consider giving a PFist to, because, with his 4+ Invulnerable save, he can soak up a few Power Weapon attacks and still be around to swing that 'Fist. Plus, at S8, he can crush most other units right there, short of some Ork characters.
However, Powerfists are, IMO, better left to Terminators, Veteran Sergeant-type units and assorted Troops that can take them like Special Weapons.
Burn the land and boil the sea. You can't take the sky from me.
Member of the Canadian Clan, eh.
Mech Tau Cadre: 2000 points, needs paint and magnets.
Paladins of Avalon (SW):-1500 points, needs paint.
The key is flexibility. If he has both a power weapon and a power fist, there is nothing lost. He keeps the extra attack in close combat, can use the power weapon as normal, and it comes in handy when he's fighting Banshees or a Bloodthirster. All he's losing is a bolt pistol shot every now and then. In all honesty, if you have the points to spare, go for it. There's no reason not to.
I have to say, a Librarian with a force weapon and a thunder hammer is something scary.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
I agree in most instances power fists are not as effective for IC's. I for one keep powerfists hoarded to my sargents but if you had the points a chappy with powrfist/wepon. the would be something to think about.
P.S zepoodle, ive got one of those librarians:w00t: , he's great in combat, though he scares me at knight sometimes......:yes:
-is working on [I]another[I] marine army :). not sure wich chapter or if im gonna make up my own chapter. If you blokes got any suggestions to make it interesting, send me a private message, thanks.