Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I don;t know if this should be in the chaos forum or in this forum but since i'm using the adamantine mantle I'll put it here. So my question is does the Adamantium mantle prevent the character wearing it from being killed instantly by the dread axe(Daemon weapon: Chaos) which allows for no save of any kind and kills outright? Thanks guys:yes:
W-1 L-0 D-0
Unless I'm missing something, the Dread Axe doesn't appear to cause Instant Death. Of course, if the attacker's strength is double the defender's toughness, then Instant Death is normally possible. Against that type of Instant Death, the Adamantium Mantle offers protection. Against weapons that are naturally able to kill outright (like a Force Weapon with a successful Psychic Test), the Mantle provides no protection.
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"
Well, since its on a daemon prince I would guess its due to the double strength...but I'l have to check it. If anyone knows the rules can they explain if the Mantle protects me. Thanks
W-1 L-0 D-0
1) the dreadaxe never wounds on worse than 4+ and ignores inv. saves....thats it....It DOES NOT cause instant death and it DOES NOT ignore armor saves unless used on a daemon prince with daemonic stature. If a Daemon prince with Daemonic staure has a dreadaxe there is NO WAY it can have 8+ str so it won't ever have double your toughness so it CANNOT instakill you. Whoever your getting this from is cheating you.
2) In the case that someone does actually have double your toughness in strength the mantle WILL protect you from instakill. If you are hit and wounded(and fail to save against) a weapon that instakills in another way(force weapons, drachnyen,Vortex of doom, etc.) the mantle WILL NOT protect you.
I was thinking at first that you may be confusing the Dreadaxe fot Abaddon's sword Drach'nyen...but if you are you should know that even drach'nyen permits and inv. save against its attack.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
Being a Daemon Prince does not double strength...Originally Posted by blood_angelmarine
It's just a title. A "Daemon Prince" doesn't even have to be a Monstrous Creature. With Daemonic Stature + Dreadaxe, though, no armour saves of any sort may be taken against it's attacks.
However, as that has nothing to do with instant death, the Adamantine Mantle will still protect you from attacks double your model's Toughness.
The mantle has nothing to do with armour saves or anything; it only states that where a model would suffer instant death, the model instead suffers a single wound. This would work in every case, basically.
allrighty guys...thanks a bunch...the guy i'm playing isnt cheating me. We havent played in a while but we are going to tommorow and I wanted my Chaplain to be gaurded against instakilling and I couldnt remeber if it was instakill or not. Thanks guys
W-1 L-0 D-0
A Statured prince with combat drugs, daemonic strength, and furious charge can get str 8 with a dread axe during his charge. So it is possible.