Preists? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Preists?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    29
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Preists?

    Can any of you guys think of a good squad with a preist in it, or any usefulness of one?
    I mean they are decent CC troops so maybe in a special weapons squad, with a democharge and maybe 2 plasma, or flamers it might work.
    what do you think


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Hermann Morr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Italy
    Age
    47
    Posts
    416
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Yeah, if you could put them in the squad you want.
    But they are advisors, read the advisors rules in the codex

  4. #3
    Member kidsyndrome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    34
    Posts
    182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    I was thinking that they should make a new doctrine... independant advisors... same cost as independant commissars and works the same, too...

  5. #4
    Senior Member Hermann Morr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Italy
    Age
    47
    Posts
    416
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Anyway the only unit that would take a real benefit from a priest is a roughriders squad, and this cannot be even with an independent advisors doctrine.

  6. #5
    Son of LO The_Giant_Mantis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Age
    32
    Posts
    4,529
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    450 (x8)

    + The priest is pretty hard in CC, if properly equipped.

    - Most guard units suck in CC, and the priest wants to get them there.

    If you were going to use them, I'd have one in a command squad (since you have to stick them there first anyway) with an eviscerator. This means the officer can also help him out in combat, while the regular troopers can have laspistols and close combat weapons, or assaulty gear like meltaguns.

    Maybe if you were fielding ogryns, but ogryns are not good under current rules anyway, so it might just end up being a points sink. Plus you'd have to fill your command squads with them first (if you wanted to be fully legal.)

  7. #6
    Wave Man Kahoolin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,019
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    208 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by Hermann Morr
    Anyway the only unit that would take a real benefit from a priest is a roughriders squad, and this cannot be even with an independent advisors doctrine.
    Yeah apparently priests can't ride horses. Their dresses get in the way :tongue:

    EDIT: The big thing to remember with priests I find is that they prevent you from rapid firing. So a priest with a plasma gun can never shoot twice, and neither can anyone he's with :wacko:

    The only thing I can see to do with them is put them in command squads and use them as suicide teams, or tank hunt with the eviscerator. They really need to rethink the way the priest works in a guard army.
    Last edited by Kahoolin; January 13th, 2006 at 05:14.

  8. #7
    Member Chain Templar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    California
    Age
    27
    Posts
    187
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    17 (x1)

    They dont prevent you from rapid firing. You cant fire heavy weapons b/c you always count as moving. Rapid fire weapons can move, but they halve their range(12"). And, if you're within 12", you may fire twice. Recap:moving with rapid fire just decreases range.
    How many guardsmen does it take to screw in a lightbulb?
    None, their lasguns work fine.

  9. #8
    Wave Man Kahoolin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,019
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    208 (x5)

    Are you sure? :hmm:

    In the WH FAQ it says that Righteous Fury means you always count as moving, which means you can't fire twice as to fire a rapid fire weapon twice you have to remain stationary, exactly like with a heavy weapon.

    EDIT: Don't worry, in the WH FAQ it says you are right. Looks like they had to make special rules for priests so they didn't mess up everyone's rapid firing!
    Last edited by Kahoolin; January 13th, 2006 at 06:03.

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    I think you may be confusing the raipd-fire rules from 3rd edition. You can now shoot twice standing still or moving as I understand it.

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Newton Abbot, UK
    Age
    30
    Posts
    646
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    77 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Godwyn_Fischig
    I think you may be confusing the raipd-fire rules from 3rd edition. You can now shoot twice standing still or moving as I understand it.
    The new rules are that you can only fire once at ranges over 12" if you stood still, but you can always fire twice under 12", regardless of whether you moved or not.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts