Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This situation came up in a game in the weekend. The Drop Pod was placed close to the table edge and could have scattered off the table with a bad direction roll and enough inches.
Would the pod and unit inside be considered destroyed? And this is just the risk you have to take for trying to get them in that position.
Is "off the table" considered impassible terrain? Therefore the pod will stop 1" away and the unit is allowed to fight?
Drop Pod scatters off the table = the unit doesn't turn up for the battle.
This is the only way to lose a Drop Pod unit.
If the drop pod scatters off the table, the rules don't actually cover what happens. Generally though, they stay off the board, in which case the rules cover what happens to them - they count as destroyed at the end of the game. If you count off the board as impassible terrain, you then get dodgyness such as eldar pathfinders deploying off the board - which I think is a big no no.
If the drop pod lands on friendly units, the rules again don't cover what happens. Generally, if a pod can distinguish between enemy units and impassible terrain, it can distinguish between friendly units too, and will stop short. There is no argument that it stops short or gets destroyed though, this is a complete black hole.
I'd like to say once again GW has screwed up here, we don't know what happens when a drop pod scatters off the board, we don't know what happens when a drop pod scatters onto friendly units, and we don't know if drop pods count for half victory points because they are immobile. We can say what should be done - destroyed, stops short, and no respectively, but we can't support these arguments with the RAW.
well, ok, I have a rules question on this:
when a drop pod scatters over enemy troops, all troops inside the pod, and the pod itself are considered destroyed, right? or is that just for normal deep striking, not d-podding>?
TSg.t Zakarius Clay
142nd Cadian, Stationed Planet Skyfall B
4th Brigade, 1st Battalion, 1st Co.
'The Pathfinders', Drop Team - 6
Pssst.... give me kudos....
Just DS-ing. If a Drop Pod lands on Impassible Terrain or an Enemy unit, it's moved so it's at least 1" away.
Burn the land and boil the sea. You can't take the sky from me.
Member of the Canadian Clan, eh.
Mech Tau Cadre: 2000 points, needs paint and magnets.
Paladins of Avalon (SW):-1500 points, needs paint.
Yup.Originally Posted by nougatNope.Originally Posted by nougatNope.Originally Posted by nougat
You got hosed.
Sweet, thats what I thought should happen, just wanted to clarify what others play it as.
I play IG and opponent was SM. he risked the pod near the edge but didn't roll high enough to scatter off.