Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I always hate arguing semantics but I was pondering this while watching a Guard player use this doctrine. Here goes: would you still be able to get close order drill when YOU assault an enemy? (please read the example)
Let's say you have a ten man squad that is surely going to be assaulted in the next two turns and you had the opportunity to "steal" your opponents charge bonues by moving 6 and then assaulting him in your turn (I describe it in detail this way to avoid questions as to why I would what to throw my "meatbags with flashlights" TOWARD the enemy, I would just as soon shoot the bejesus out of him. ) Lets clarify and say your opponent misjudged distance to your squad or something, which in turn made said opportunity arise.
Anyways, back to it. You assault, moving closest to closest and whatnot, but after doing the assault move your models are no longer in base to base because HIS models weren't in base to base, effectively nullifying the bonuses for cod. Of course, i'm aware that it doesn't say that it WON'T work on your charge but, I suppose the question is more based on the situation.
This particular situation happened with previous guard player where his opponent misjudged his movement and ended up being something like 10 inches away, so the guard player just assaulted and broke base to base by the time assault moves were done. They mutually agreed that he got it but the opponent could've pushed it if he wanted to...
Thanks for the input.
I made a long post a while ago about how I think COD should be used, I'll quote it here for you since I belive it should cover everything you're asking. If not, feel free to poke me and I'll be happy to spread some lights on my thoughts.Originally Posted by Kaiser