Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have yet to play my first game using DH. however, I had a snivelling Tau player smugly state that if he were to play against my daemon hunters, he would be allowed to add a greater daemon to his army...
I'll be packing up the army and selling it on ebay if this is actually true.... I checked through the entire codex and came up with nothing that states this is permissible.
Can anyone clarify this for me?
I play Tau, and I've not ever heard this o_0
Gloria Imperator, The Firstborn Stand!
- 2000pts Inquisition, 2000pts Vostroyans, 3000pts Vampire Counts, 1400pts Daemons, [WIP] 2500pts Death Guard
Alright, for those of you with the codex, this starts on Page 49.
I don't play DH, and didn't really read it, but it looks like IF THE NON-DH BUYS IT, he can have a Daemonvessel turn into a Greater Daemon. However, it's not free.
So your freind is right, but not completely. Read page 49 to 51 in the DH Codex.
Last edited by The Doctor; January 30th, 2006 at 01:46.
Half Gods are worshiped with Wine and Flowers. Real Gods are worshiped in Blood.
Blood for the Blood God! Beer for the Bronze Keg!
he can only do that if you are playing by adversaries rules. i think that both players must consent though, but im not sure, my codex isnt with me right now, and I've never had anyone want to play adversaries anyway.
'he can only do that if you are playing by adversaries rules. i think that both players must consent though, but im not sure, my codex isnt with me right now, and I've never had anyone want to play adversaries anyway
I think this is true. The opponent of the Daemonhunter player can have it if he wants but only if both players agree on it; although, I could be wrong.
sure, he can take one, and some daemon packs too. the stats are randomly generated - and its not exactly cheep. and it is a DAEMONHUNTERS army. if you cant kill a single crappy cc daemon with your fancy gm you dont deserve the title.
the reason why no one ever envokes this rule is because it sucks - he would be far better of taking additional tau units. (well....some daemon packs would be nice)
i dont think that the tau have a good daemon vessel anyhow - a etherial would force the entire army to take a ld test when he transformed.
he made it sound like he could take it in addition to his army. So if we played a 2000 point game, he would be fielding about 2250 points, if he took a GD of Khorne.
The cost of the Greater Daemon or Daemon Packs acquired through the Adversaries rule *is* included in the total. ie, the 200pt (or whatever) unit must fit under the normal points limit. They aren't free.
You also do NOT need your opponent's consent to use the Adversaries rule. The only requirement is that the DH player is fielding one or more models that count as Grey Knights.
Whats more, if you have Codex:CSM handy, you can use one of the four Greater Daemons in there instead of the generic one in Codex:DH. Again, you still must pay for the model(s).
As for selling your army if this is true, don't bother. I went to the trouble of converting and painting a generic Greater Daemon that I tote around with my Daemonhunters, and he gets used in maybe one game out of fifteen. People seldom want to take a model against an army that is *built* to kill that model.
Well, my knee-jerk reaction was related to the idea that the opponent gets the addition unit for free....
I'll keep'm. thanks.
i did the same thing as megalo - converted up a generic gd. i found it to be quite fun, and an interesting and different modeling experience for a dh player.