Assault Cannon: Rending? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Junior Member CommieNinja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska
    Age
    30
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Assault Cannon: Rending?

    I looked at the assault cannon with rending and holy crap! That's pretty nice! One question, though. It says that on a roll of 6, it ignores the armor save and inflicts a wound automatically. Does this ignore invulnerable saves as well?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Lord Malachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Thunderdome
    Age
    46
    Posts
    355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    You still get to take an invunerable save. If the model in question is T3 it can be auto-killed even if it has multiple wounds.

  4. #3
    Senior Member Deek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Beecher Illinois
    Age
    28
    Posts
    975
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x2)

    No, it doesn't unfortunately otherwise you will see them in every army as character hunters not mass infantry killers.

    If it does ignore Invulerable saves it will say it in the description of the weapon BOLD and UNDERLINED if you catch my drift, the only ones that do that are the Necron Lord/ Pharia Warsythe and the psycannon to my knowledge that is

  5. #4
    Junior Member CommieNinja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska
    Age
    30
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Are we talking about the same thing here? I'm talking about the rending attribute, not the assault cannon itself.

  6. #5
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by CommieNinja
    Are we talking about the same thing here? I'm talking about the rending attribute, not the assault cannon itself.
    Read the rulebook.

    If it doesn't say it ignores invulnerable saves.. it doesn't.

    If it says it ignores armour saves, it does.

    Invulnerable saves are different than normal armour saves. :yes:

  7. #6
    Junior Member CommieNinja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska
    Age
    30
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Maybe I'm just not catching on. The rending attribute says that any roll to hit of 6 with a rending weapon will ignore Armor Saves and automatically causes a wound. Thats what I'm questioning. I want to know that if the enemy unit gets a 6 rolled on them, and they have invulnerable saves, do they still take the instant wound or do they not.

  8. #7
    Senior Member Lord Malachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Thunderdome
    Age
    46
    Posts
    355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Rending is rending. The only difference would be in reference to auto-killing. That is based on the strength of the weapon used. The instant wound is only if they don't have an invunerable save.

  9. #8
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by CommieNinja
    Maybe I'm just not catching on. The rending attribute says that any roll to hit of 6 with a rending weapon will ignore Armor Saves and automatically causes a wound. Thats what I'm questioning. I want to know that if the enemy unit gets a 6 rolled on them, and they have invulnerable saves, do they still take the instant wound or do they not.
    Yes. Why would an invulnerable save stop a wound from counting as a wound? It doesn't do that for other weapons.

    So, here's how it works:

    The roll of a six causes an auto-wound that ignores normal armour saves.

    Since the model has an invulnerable save, it may take the invulnerable save as normal. If it's passed, no damage. If it's failed, that autowound takes a wound off of the model, as normal.

    Make sense? ^_^

  10. #9
    Junior Member CommieNinja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska
    Age
    30
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    It sure does, thanks :yes:

  11. #10
    Junior Member CommieNinja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska
    Age
    30
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    An add-on, though, regarding the rule "Feel no pain". Would feel no pain trigger if the 6 to hit was rolled for the assault cannon and if the invul save was failed? I imagine it would, but I'm not sure.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts