Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I looked at the assault cannon with rending and holy crap! That's pretty nice! One question, though. It says that on a roll of 6, it ignores the armor save and inflicts a wound automatically. Does this ignore invulnerable saves as well?
You still get to take an invunerable save. If the model in question is T3 it can be auto-killed even if it has multiple wounds.
No, it doesn't unfortunately otherwise you will see them in every army as character hunters not mass infantry killers.
If it does ignore Invulerable saves it will say it in the description of the weapon BOLD and UNDERLINED if you catch my drift, the only ones that do that are the Necron Lord/ Pharia Warsythe and the psycannon to my knowledge that is
Necorn Work In Progress Click Link
Are we talking about the same thing here? I'm talking about the rending attribute, not the assault cannon itself.
Maybe I'm just not catching on. The rending attribute says that any roll to hit of 6 with a rending weapon will ignore Armor Saves and automatically causes a wound. Thats what I'm questioning. I want to know that if the enemy unit gets a 6 rolled on them, and they have invulnerable saves, do they still take the instant wound or do they not.
Rending is rending. The only difference would be in reference to auto-killing. That is based on the strength of the weapon used. The instant wound is only if they don't have an invunerable save.
Yes. Why would an invulnerable save stop a wound from counting as a wound? It doesn't do that for other weapons.Originally Posted by CommieNinja
So, here's how it works:
The roll of a six causes an auto-wound that ignores normal armour saves.
Since the model has an invulnerable save, it may take the invulnerable save as normal. If it's passed, no damage. If it's failed, that autowound takes a wound off of the model, as normal.
Make sense? ^_^
It sure does, thanks :yes:
An add-on, though, regarding the rule "Feel no pain". Would feel no pain trigger if the 6 to hit was rolled for the assault cannon and if the invul save was failed? I imagine it would, but I'm not sure.