Scout moves? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Scout moves?

  1. #1
    Senior Member 4theEmperor!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Spokane Washington
    Posts
    990
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    64 (x2)

    Scout moves?

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Ezekiel1990
    Nice. Remember, you can start 12" from your table edge, scout move 12", then move 12", and then assault 6".




    I don't see this anywhere in the Space Marines Codex or in the 40K rule book. Where do I find it?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Slave to the flesh The_Outsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Where the sun burns in a crimson light
    Posts
    3,353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    251 (x8)

    Look in the rulebook for page 74, the universal special rules, then under scouts.

    It says they get a free move at the start of the game (before the first turn), I personally don't know any SM units that have scouts and a 12" movement, so Ezekiel1990 may be wrong

    Hope this helps.

  4. #3
    LO Zealot Ezekiel1990's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    CT, USA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    104 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Outsider
    It says they get a free move at the start of the game (before the first turn), I personally don't know any SM units that have scouts and a 12" movement, so Ezekiel1990 may be wrong
    Scout bikers.

    They deploy 12" from their table edge, make a 12" scout move (they can't turbo-boost), then, in their movement phase, they move another 12", and then, in the assault phase, they charge 6". Basically, they covered 42" in the first turn, and tables are only 48" wide. So they cold easily slap some meltabombs on a vehicle on the first turn, or, if you have a sergeant, you could get a powerfist into combat on turn 1.

  5. #4
    Slave to the flesh The_Outsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Where the sun burns in a crimson light
    Posts
    3,353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    251 (x8)

    My mistake, I didn't think scout bikers had the rule, so you are very correct Ezekiel1990.

    Now you mention it I now see how devastating they can be.

  6. #5
    Member Corporal Punishment's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Age
    33
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    yes, devestating indeed... i'll be trying that out myself. thanks =)
    Armies: Dark Eldar
    Space Wolves

    (I don't like armies people actually play/write codexes for)

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    27
    Posts
    215
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -3 (x0)

    Its funny how SCOUTS don't have the SCOUT rule.
    Hahahahah so funny!
    God!

  8. #7
    LO Zealot Ezekiel1990's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    CT, USA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    104 (x4)

    Just wanted to let people know that I got this idea originally from Chaosbyrnn... so don't give me all the credit.

    Of course, I'd probably figure it out by now anyway

  9. #8
    Senior Member Valerian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    43
    Posts
    328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    46 (x1)

    Re: Scouts

    Quote Originally Posted by Ezekiel1990
    Scout bikers.

    They deploy 12" from their table edge, make a 12" scout move (they can't turbo-boost), then, in their movement phase, they move another 12", and then, in the assault phase, they charge 6". Basically, they covered 42" in the first turn, and tables are only 48" wide. So they cold easily slap some meltabombs on a vehicle on the first turn, or, if you have a sergeant, you could get a powerfist into combat on turn 1.
    Actually you guys are incorrect on this one, but understandably so. Although they happened to be named "scouts" neither Space Marine Scouts, or Space Marine Biker Scouts have the Scout special rule from the Universal Special Rules. They only have the Infiltrate and Move Through Cover special rules. Take another look at their entry in the Space Marine Codex and you will see this.

    They therefore do not get to make a free move prior to the first turn.

    Regards,
    Valerian

  10. #9
    Slave to the flesh The_Outsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Where the sun burns in a crimson light
    Posts
    3,353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    251 (x8)

    Err Valerian, you are wrong, scout do have the scouts rule, they get the free move.

    Its in their profile, they have the 'scouts' rule as found in the universal special rules.

  11. #10
    Senior Member Lord Malachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Thunderdome
    Age
    46
    Posts
    355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Scout Bike Squadrons (p.37) do have the Scouts special rule. Scout Squads (p.34) do not. I hadn't really noticed this before as I rarely use bikes. I think I may have to employ them more often now. Awesome tactic, thanks Ezekiel/Chaosbyrnn!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts