Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Originally Posted by Ezekiel1990
Nice. Remember, you can start 12" from your table edge, scout move 12", then move 12", and then assault 6".
I don't see this anywhere in the Space Marines Codex or in the 40K rule book. Where do I find it?
Look in the rulebook for page 74, the universal special rules, then under scouts.
It says they get a free move at the start of the game (before the first turn), I personally don't know any SM units that have scouts and a 12" movement, so Ezekiel1990 may be wrong
Hope this helps.
Scout bikers.Originally Posted by The_Outsider
They deploy 12" from their table edge, make a 12" scout move (they can't turbo-boost), then, in their movement phase, they move another 12", and then, in the assault phase, they charge 6". Basically, they covered 42" in the first turn, and tables are only 48" wide. So they cold easily slap some meltabombs on a vehicle on the first turn, or, if you have a sergeant, you could get a powerfist into combat on turn 1.
My mistake, I didn't think scout bikers had the rule, so you are very correct Ezekiel1990.
Now you mention it I now see how devastating they can be.
yes, devestating indeed... i'll be trying that out myself. thanks =)
Armies: Dark Eldar
(I don't like armies people actually play/write codexes for)
Its funny how SCOUTS don't have the SCOUT rule.
Hahahahah so funny!
Actually you guys are incorrect on this one, but understandably so. Although they happened to be named "scouts" neither Space Marine Scouts, or Space Marine Biker Scouts have the Scout special rule from the Universal Special Rules. They only have the Infiltrate and Move Through Cover special rules. Take another look at their entry in the Space Marine Codex and you will see this.Originally Posted by Ezekiel1990
They therefore do not get to make a free move prior to the first turn.
Err Valerian, you are wrong, scout do have the scouts rule, they get the free move.
Its in their profile, they have the 'scouts' rule as found in the universal special rules.
Scout Bike Squadrons (p.37) do have the Scouts special rule. Scout Squads (p.34) do not. I hadn't really noticed this before as I rarely use bikes. I think I may have to employ them more often now. Awesome tactic, thanks Ezekiel/Chaosbyrnn!