Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have an IG army and have some allied DH, now i usualy use ogryns in my IG army, mainly cos they remind me of me, but i heard some were you can't use ogryns and have DH, just like you cant have GK and Deaomhosts, is this true or am i just being a n00b?
I don't recall reading any restrictions on using ogryns and DH forces.
No if you play a base list of Deamonhunters, you can not use Ogryns. The are not an option in the Deamonhunter 'Dex. If you play an IG base list with Allied Deamonhunters you can use them.
"A love for tradition has never weakened a nation, indeed it has strengthened nations in their hour of peril."
Sir Winston Churchil
The issue is which army is your base army.
If you're playing an IG force with allied Daemonhunters, you may use Doctrines and such. Your only limitations are in how many FOC slots worth of Daemonhunters you may include (plus the basic requirements such as no assassins without inquisitors, etc).
If you're playing a DH force with inducted Guard, then you may not use Doctrines, and are in fact very limited to what IG units may be used.
If you reeeeally really want those Ogryns go for the IG base army, as everyone else has already said going that way means you can take allied DH and still use all the DH and IG special rules etc.
That said, a DH force with inducted Guard can be pretty fearsome; there's a fantastic battle report of such a force versus some Dark Angels in the forum, the DH hammered them. If you're going that way then you don't really need Ogryns, the GKs and GKTs do their job and to a better extent.
I assume since you have already taken DH allies that you have some kind of access to the DH codex. To clarify:
With Daemonhunters as your base army, you must take your mandatory 1 HQ and 2 Troops from the DH army list, then you can add ONLY the Inducted IG units (with no Doctrines available) that are listed on Codex: DH pages 30-31. Note that Ogryns aren't inculded.
With Imperial Guard as your base army, you must take your mandatory 1 HQ and 2 Troops from the IG army list, and then may add allied DH troops according to the restrictions in the grey box on codex: DH page 26. Note that you can't take DH Heavy Support (really not a problem for IG, as I understand ). This option seems your best bet, as it lets you keep your Doctrines and Ogryns.
"HQ, my LOS is blocked by a soda bottle. I'm moving to unmask my guns."
"Negative! The soda bottle is the Carnifex!"
"Dang proxy models!"
-Cmdr. Kren, www.tsoalr.com
I think you are just being noob. dont worry, there are no rules against it.