Invulnerable save items - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    The Pointy Eared elfwarden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    in the Netherlands, Apeldoorn
    Age
    27
    Posts
    999
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    22 (x2)

    Invulnerable save items

    hello,

    I was looking through the Codex and a question arose.
    in the entry's of the Iron Halo & Storm Shield states that the Invulnerable savecan be taken in stead of the armoursave, this is not stated at the entry of the combat shield.

    the question: can you, by the combat shield take the Invulnerable save after you failed the Armoursave or is this one to in stead of the armoursave?

    thank you all in advance


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Slave to the flesh The_Outsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Where the sun burns in a crimson light
    Posts
    3,353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    251 (x8)

    You only ever get to make one save, if you fail it you take a wound.

    The iron halo save can be taken at any time, while I believe that the combat and storm shield only work in CC.

    Hope this helps.

  4. #3
    LO Zealot Addoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, England
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,919
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    107 (x5)

    Indeed just to round off - all saves work this way. You choose the best save available to you; invulnerable, armour or cover and take that one.

    See the rulebook page 25.

  5. #4
    Ghost of LO ForgedInTheFurnaceOfWar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Age
    30
    Posts
    3,861
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    185 (x8)

    Not to confuse you, but THERE is one save that is taken in edition, however, only blood angles and chaos have it, that rule is known as feel no pain. However, this should only consearn you if your a blood angle, or playing, korn/blood angles. Peace

  6. #5
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    Feels No Pain is not a save. It's an ability entirely separate from saves.
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  7. #6
    LO Zealot Ezekiel1990's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    CT, USA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    104 (x4)

    Well there's the bionics 6+ save... so you ahve a 1 in 6 chance of passing a failed save...

  8. #7
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    I wouldn't call that a save, either. It's an ability like Feels No Pain, but not a save. The problem with calling such abilities "saves" is that it conflicts with the rule that only one save may be taken against a wound. It is like a save, but as I implied: calling it a save leads to certain misconceptions.

    EDIT: Admittedly, this is a semantics argument.
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  9. #8
    The Pointy Eared elfwarden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    in the Netherlands, Apeldoorn
    Age
    27
    Posts
    999
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    22 (x2)

    thank you all, all ypur commnets really helped (there is a nive convercion coming up with a commander with bionics, jumppack, powerweapon and combat shield:shifty: )

    thanks

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts