Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
In my Guard army I have used the Mechanized doctrine. I know that a lot of people don't think very highly of it, but I have had a lot of success with it. My question is since I have this doctrine, do I still have to buy a chimera for my veterans if I am inflitrating them? if yes, does that mean I can't infiltrate me veterans?
I like to use the mechanized doctrine every now and then and I'm pretty sure that you have to mount the hardened veterans in a chimera (or at least give them a chimera). It does say that all guard infantry units must take a chimera whether they can usually or not.
Yup, Godeg is right, Mechanized specifies guard infantry (see P55 of the codex). Veterans come under that umbrella therefore they need to take a transport, and the rules for veterans say that they can only infiltrate if not assigned a transport.
So basicaly, mechanized stops you infiltrating veterans and guardsmen full stop.
Personaly I wouldn't take mechanized unless you depend on a specific unit that is not transport eligable to be in a chimera, otherwise, just get your Chimeras off the infantry, where they can be in abundance.