Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm trying to put together a combat patrol list to take on some Guard, and since I'm a bit light on the old tank-busting kit (he'd only agree to let me take a dreadnought if I gave it an AC and CCW because he is a dirtbag, no +2 saves is a pain ;c) and he's bound to load up on as many tanks as he can get, I want to give the Justicar of my pathetic little GK squad some melta-bombs.
The only problem is I can't find any info on them anywhere in any of the Codexes I own, the closest thing mentioned in the rulebook is Frag grenades, and I've never used them before so I'm not really sure how they work ^___^ If anyone knows where I should be looking please let me know, a page number will be sufficient.
meltabombs? they are in nearly all imperial codexes.
I can't find meltabombs in my DH codex, then one assumes they cannot take them.
If they aren't in the armoury them DH can't get them, which wouldn't surprise me as they have a different play style to typical SM.
Hope this helps.
There are melta-bombs and krak grenades in the DH armoury, both of which are available to the Justicar of any Grey Knights squad. I've also been through my Space Marines, Grey WOlves, Imperial Guard and Witch Hunters codexes and it says nowt about them in there either, even though they're in the armouries of all those forces. I've got a rough idea of what they do (melta=anti-armour, bomb=grenade=used in assaults), I just want confirmation from the official books.
Also, while I'm here, it'd be nice to know what krak grenades do too...
Right, I will be more helpful this time.
meltabombs- BGB page 72
Krak grenades- BGB page 72
There it has the profiles for the grenades.
Hope this helps.
Very much so, thank a million
I know I am slightly off topic, but don't take the dred. You can take two Psycannon inquisitors for 10 points less and then you can target two vehicles with 3 BS 4 S 6 shots...very damaging to the side of a chimera, and if he can take a Hellhound it should drop it too...you shouldn't have to worry about the models dying as they are independent characters and can't be shot at because your GKs should be marching up the field. The dred is not effective, and when fighting the guard which will probably have squads with las cannons, and plasma guns waiting to take you down it will drop fast.
(The cheapest thing you could do is bring two small squads of GKs with 2 psycannons each and sit at 33 inches and fire away, make him make the shrouding roll and only get one shot off will you get 6 per squad...and put your inquisitor behind them so that he can shoot and not be shot at.) I bet he would get pissed as your Gks out shoot his Guard.
What do you mean - "He'd only agree to let me take a dreadnought if..."?Originally Posted by Heathen
You don't need your opponents permission to field a dreadnought of whatever setup - as long as it's in the codex, you can use it.
Man, if you had to ask permission to use certain units, I'd never let my blood angels friend take death company ever again...
I'd agree with nick, whats this bull about telling you what you can and can't field. Sounds to me like he just wants to stack the deck so he wins. DH, with their minmal anti-armor to begin with allowed to field no Lascannon Dread while it sounds like your enemy wants to load up on tanks? How can you play with a person like that, I mean Dreads arn't even considered a cheezy unit in the 40K game, they have their weaknesses there's absolutely no grounds to deny their use.
That would be like me walking up to a Guards player and saying "Hey, I'll play you but you can't take any sort of special or heavy weapons in your platoons..." GW assigns point values to everything for a reason. A Dread has a cost, you pay that cost in your list and deny the use of those points for other things, it is not another players part in a friendly game to step in and say what will and wont be used, especially when it seems so obvious that he simply wants the advantage for himself.
The only honorable options left to we combatants is seppuku or semantics...which amount to the same thing really.
its not that you guys......its that in combat patrol you;re not allowed 2+ saves, models with 3 wounds or more, and the combined armor value of a vehicle must be below a certain number (I think the number was 43)
a S6 weapon on your GK can dent light vehicles quite well....don't be afraid to charge and fight a tank.
Raven Claws Space Marine Chapter........2500 points
Waagh Rotskrag (in building process)
Member of the Fluffmaster Clan
I had to get him to agree to the dread for a few reasons; firstly, because you're not allowed any +2 saves that means I'm not allowed to take GK Heroes, which you normally need before you can take GK vehicles, also there's a rule that says no vehicles with a total armour value of 33 or more and the dread's got 34.
He didn't end up using his Guard, he used his Marines and despite the fact I killed his Scouts and whupped his Librarian's command squad, the stinking Librarian was unwounded and I ended up losing. Little tip; don't use dreads in combat patrol, and if you're going to use Grey Knights make sure he doesn't get them below 50% strength ^^.