Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Do the Imperial Guard Commissars count as Independant Characters for purpose of resolving close combat?
They (unlike Officers) don't have the Character special rule, this thogether with the Advisor rule would IMO imply that they can't be targeted in close combat, as they are basically a part of their command/infantry squad.
Am I correct?
I did search the old topics, but I was not able to find anything. Maybe this was discussed already- maybe somebody can give me a link.
Last edited by Tytus; March 18th, 2006 at 16:43.
Advisors are not ICs, you are correct. They simply become another member of the squad but with their own special rules and equipment.
But that's only if you follow the rules about putting them in the HQ's first and everything. If you use the "Independent Commissars" doctrine, they cost 10 points extra AND count as IC's...
Tyranids: 2500 pts
Imperial Guard: 1000 pts
Witch Hunters: 1000 pts
Yes, of course. I was reffering to using them as Advisors.
Then, as said earlier, they are part of the Command/Whatever squad.
Yep, same as psykers and priests. They're just another squad member (that's what makes them so deadly against enemy's in hand to hand. They're sitting back, pounding on your enemy with a powerfist (commissars), eviscerator (priest), or force weapon (psyker) while your enemy hacks away at the other meat-puppets in your command squad.
My 40K Armies:
- Thousand Sons
- Mordian Imperial Guard
- Dark Eldar
My Fantasy Armies:
- Lhamian Vampire Counts
I might aswell ask this here seeing as there's already a thread about Commisars.
If I pick the Independent Commisars Doctrine and choose to assign a Commisar to a squad of Rough Riders, will he slow the Rough Riders down or will he get the same mount as they do seeing as there is a Commisar on a horse model produced by GW(Well, it's not around anymore as far as my searches in the GW online store just revealed.)
This do be the one I'm talking about:
To the best of my knowledge, you can't attach an Independent Commissar to a squad.
I don't have Codex: Imperial Guard, but using logic would tell me that you buy an upgrade to throw someone on their own...to keep them on their own.
You can attach Independent Commisars to squads, that's the whole point of Doctrine: Indepentent Commisars... turning them into Independent Characters so you can attach them to squads.Originally Posted by GamesmasterZ
Why try and answer a question about something you apparently know nothing about?
Because, if you think a little bit, it would seem that Independent meant not attached to anything.
Of course, I am sorry for the miss-information I gave. Although, it did make me think of a logical problem to address the next time they make another 'Guard codex.