Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
ive painted it (inc the inside), with forgeworld doors and stuff (http://www.librarium-online.com/gall...hp?i=2745&c=29) but...
how do i use it in my space wolf army correctly?
i wanted to use it in standard 1500pt games but it seems too expensive and i could be using a 50pt rhino instead which is a shame after spending all that money on it and painting it up and stuff
i had a squad of 13 blood claws + WG + HQ to fit inside it but that squad alone ends up costing over 600pts :wacko:
please can some space wolf guy or someone who uses a land raider crusader help me
-SONS of RUSS member-
Exiled until 5thED redo...
Well, first of all, the LRC is soooo much better than the rhino, and not only because of its added armor. Th real advantage is that you can move 12" disembark, shoot, and charge 6". For this reason, put the troops that you think really do their very best on the charge, but never seem to make it to CC against moderately shooty armies. I play Daemonhunters, and putting my Grey Knight Terminators in there REALLY helps since they are unstoppable in CC when they get there. As for SW, I would maybe put bloodclaws in.
Et imperator Invocato Diabolus Daemonica Exorcist!
Exactly. Fill that thing up with Blood Claws and a Wolf Lord or Wolf Priest. The charge you deliver will decimate almost any opponent. Just beware against opponents like Tau Necrons or Eldar, who can open it up like a can of sardines.
I have taught myself to not worry about taking the Land Raider in 1500 or below games. It's generally a rule to go for more cost efficient options in games of 1500 and below because it can end up being nothing but a giant target. However, I have taken the Crusader in 1500 games many times and it has worked. Hell, in the Dark Crusade I took one in a 750 game! I have taken it against Necrons and Tau and it has won me the game (athough it was destroyed). When you need a transport for 15 men, a Rhino just doesn't cut it.
Don't make it an unessary risk though. 600 points is a crapload of eggs in one basket. The most I've put is 301 pts worth, and that was Terminators! The HQs I put in my Landraider Crusader are exteremely cheap, and I use cheap troops as well. That leaves me with the points to spend on other threats such as Landspeeders to distract my opponent and assault squads and bikes to threaten his tank hunters. Also, you shouldn't always rush the Land Raider 12 inches. If the Land Raider isn't in danger and you are in range, take it easy and move 6 inches, firing all your weapons and softening up the enemy. Use cover when you can, and disembark your guys if you think the tank will get blown. You absolutely cannot let them blow it with your men in it or it will spell doom for your assualt.
"Courage is not the absence of fear, it is the conquest of it." -Anon
I sometimes put my Death Co in one, with a pretty basic Chaplain. Works well.
And as Ebon Hand points out, you don't need to rush it in to combat, just because it's hard enough to do so. If it can sit for a turn or two, shoot, and then hit as part of a coordinated assault, then you'll get much better results than if you run it into the enemy by itself, then wait for the rest of the guys to turn up.
And put smoke on it..
Rocket launchers rock
Missile launchers miss
Sounds like you have a good powerhouse idea to me as long as you use it correctly.
The best way to protect your LRC and its occupants, in my opinion would be to provide distractions. Maybe a tempting unit of infiltrator devies or something else that your opponent will be hardpressed to kill those first few turns effectively drawing fire away from the LRC.
Otherwise, Try to limit LOS and possibly advance up a flank; its usually not wise to plant your Landraider in the middle your deployment zone, although it does make a lovely centerpiece for an army. Unless you're planning to disembark, shoot and then charge the enemy that turn, I usually like to have my models disembark and then embark again during the next turn; that way if the landraider gets popped, you won't have an entangled unit or possibly a dead one... if your willing to try this tactic (it has its benefits depending on how you look at it), try to put your units off to the side of the landraider so that they have cover from enemy fire (make good use of that 2" disembarkation zone).
Also don't underestimate the firepower of the LRC - Hurricane Bolters, a Multi Melta, and a Twin-Linked AC - thats a lot of shots in one turn! I played a game against a kid with black templars and the combined efforts of my LRC and the Termies in which it contained alone eliminated a whole 15 man BT unit-o-death during the first turn of the game!
Hope this helps
Last edited by RAiN_the_FALLeN; March 21st, 2006 at 03:34.
An Inquisitor walks into a bar...
++POST TERMINATED BY AUTHORITY OF THE INQUISITION++
I don't know of this is still a viable tactic, but I used to put 14 Blood Claws and a Rune Priest in the LRC.
I'd have the Rune Priest call down the snow every turn and the LRC was always in 'cover' untill he and the rest of the boys got out.
I think it might be illegal now though.
"No one has a monopoly on wisdom."-S.W.G.
Fluff Master Clan initiate.
"I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones."-A.E.
"Before you embark on a journey of revenge, dig two graves."-C.
New 40K missions here.
how bout 14 Blood claws + a chaplain charging thats a lot of re rollable attacks.
2000pts Orks 4-2-1
I have used a LRC alot in 1500 games and as long as it moves at least 1 time it will be worth it. If you get first turn you should move a full 12" towards the closest enemy infantry unit and deploy smoke. The chances of a LRC with smoke being destroyed are quite low and many opponants will fire everything they have at it or ignore it completly. Even if it is imobilized you can still get out and deploy 2" from its front door move 6" and assault 6", 12" +2"+6"+6" = 26" from your starting line which should be enough for a 2nd turn charge. Another thing about a LRC is that you can consolodate from an assault back into your LRC, so wiping out a unit wont leave your expensive squad out in the open.
what do you mean rerollable attacks?? am i missing something out here?? :cry:Originally Posted by gen.nehring
this is some good advice guys... we want more tho
-SONS of RUSS member-
Exiled until 5thED redo...
my apologies, i thought that space wolf chaplains (whatever their called) had access to the same rules as normal chaplains.but anywayss, putting 14 BC's + an independant character is probably your best bet.
2000pts Orks 4-2-1