Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
It say in order to qualify for close order all the models in the squad must be in base to base yes, so can i string them off in a long line and still claim close order, or does it have to be packed together like in the codex?
It has to be base to base, they can be in a long line, but your problem there is with casualty removal, it would have to come from the end to avoid breaking the COD
Everything you have been told is a lie!
Yeh, stringing them out is dangerous. If you take casualties and the end models are out of the opponents range, you have to break your line. Plus the extended line tactic is practically useless now that you can't use a meat shield anyway. Its just way eiser to keep them in a logical coherrant formation. Its safer too.
Happy guarding .
I have run many differnt formations for COD. Like the W, V,U , upside down V and upside down U. I have found the U works the best for me. Play around and have fun with it.
I as well run U's on any unit that has short range weapons grenade lanchers and plasma guns go at the tops of the U. heavy weapons with their longer range go near the bottom curve.
Another formation that i have been know to use is the O. Placing the large 60mm template of a heavy weapon at the back line then wrap everyone from the middle distance of the 60mm in a circle (wish I had a graphic to show what I mean). What this does is again places your guys in COD but flamer and small blast template weapons can only really cover 2-3 guys. Though never use this formation if they enemy has an ordance weapons. whole squads can be partially placed under this formation.
As a rule of thumb for me if there is ordance around I tend to do a zig zag pattern to the unit with heavy weapons on an end.
Close Order Drill can allow Guard to cause a wound or two when charged but nothing more. Against template weapons it hurts, and the bonus to Ld is only meger at best. Sure wish Vets could take it, or Stormtroopers, but say oh well.