Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Here is a question, I am wrapping up my third storm trooper squad and I am collecting Grenadiers, but: are the 2 inquisitorial allied regiments that can be taken for IG always legal? I mean can I always take grenadier doctrine and the 2 allied regiment in my troop choice or is it game/tornament dependent???
P.S I dont want to fill up my elites with em so I want to use the troops slots
Some tournaments don't allow for DH or WH allies to be taken. But most GW-sanctioned stuff allows it, as the ally rules are clearly printed in both of the Inquisition codecies.
And yes, you may take those two IST units if you like. It'd be a chance to legally get a pair of Rhinos into an IG army, along with (as you pointed out) not using all those Elite slots. Remember that IST and IGST have difference rules, though.
Wut about special character like creed and yarrick, are they only allowed some of the time???
I think you can have Creed and Yarrick in the same army, but Creed can only be in a Cadian army and you would also be without a command platoon since they both take up an HQ slot.
"Spare me you space age techno-babble Attila the Hun!" ~Zapp Branigan
Command squads are a required HQ choice (hence the "1" next to it, not 0-1). This means that any IG force you have must have a Command squad as an HQ. The other you can fill up as desired with a special character or Ordos* HQ choice. So, legally, I don't think 2 special characters is an option.Originally Posted by Glandor
Wait, that makes no sence, if you use creed, Kell has to be with him. Thats two slots right there, and you say a command SQUAD has to be taken, thats 3 HQs. I think you are getting something mixed up here...
Creed & Kell together count as a single HQ choice, as stated in their codex entry.Originally Posted by WraithGuardian
Last edited by mEGALOMANIAC; March 30th, 2006 at 09:00.
Yes, you can include ISTs and Grenadiers in the same army.
However, if you aren't using the elite slots, just take the stormtroopers. They're better, they cost the same and the armoury is cheaper.
Also, it would be nice to tell your opponent which is which, or to mark them out somehow, so he knows, for example, which Stormtrooper units have krak grenades and which don't.
Mantis, I don't mean to play with your mind, but if I am not too mistake (codex isn't with me right now.) Is that both Inq. Storm Troops and IG Storm Troops both have frag and krak grenades, and besides the easy way of telling which troops are which is simple by modling the =I= symbol on the Inq. Storm Troops.
This is just my thoughts also thanks to the pictures within the DaemonHunters codex. As for wanting to use the Inq. Troops and not use up the Elite choices, it's your call on that so I can't say if that's good or bad.
Anyways may the dice gods bless all your armies.
I'll be damned before the soldiers of the Emperor are just left to rot!
Last words of Colonel Densit from the Rahaxin 19th
"DISS NOT THE EMPEROR'S POINTED STICK, HERETIC!"
If it doesn't work with the Emperor. Then it's been officially Karmooned!!!
BEWARE THE POWER OF THE LIGHT-BRIGHT!
Actually, IST don't come with free krak grenades. The two types of ST have some slightly different points costs for unit upgrades (vet sarge and special weapons). And IGST have the ability to buy infiltrate/deepstrike. So it really is important to differentiate them somehow, even though the differences are minor. Painting them different colors makes sense, at least an armband or helmet mark or something. Modeling/painting an =][=, like BDThrall said, is also a good way to go. If you give them transports (which you should), you could put the =][= here and there on it too (check the GW DH site for a fairly cool =][= template for a Rhino roof, if you plan on putting them in Rhinos).
Last edited by mEGALOMANIAC; March 30th, 2006 at 14:26.