A couple of questions. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member ThatGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Age
    24
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    A couple of questions.

    1:If you give an entire squad of veterans terminator honours, do they get access to the armoury? If not please provide some good proof because I'm pretty sure the other SM player wont believe me.

    2:If a vehicle with WS gets stunned, can it still charge?

    The Ten Dimensions

    "I read about something like this in a book." "Are you sure it was a book? Are you sure it wasn't nothing?" "...Oh yeah."-Peter and Brian Griffin

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Illustrator Extraordinair Adrian MalSeraph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New York State
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x7)

    It would make sense about veterans getting acess to the army but I'm not sure. As for the Vehicle with a weapon skill, if the vehicle can still move it can still assault. ie: shaken

  4. #3
    LO Zealot Grey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waterloo, Ont.
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,020
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    77 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    1:If you give an entire squad of veterans terminator honours, do they get access to the armoury?
    All specialists with terminator honours get access to the armoury. That is apothecary,company champion, standard bearer.

    The Veteran Sergeant who has terminator honours has access to the armoury.

    However it does not say that the other squad members when given honours may have such access.

    Page 29 of the SM codex.



    And as per page 22 of the SM codex only models with such access may take items from the armoury.

    Seems pretty straight forward.

    I guess I can see why the confusion might arise since it doesn't specifically say that the non specialist, non veteran sergeant terminator honours veterans don't have wargear armoury access.

    But it also doesn't specifically say that average joe tactical boys don't have it either.

    If it doesn't say the model has access to the armoury, then they do not.

    As it stands only the specialists and veteran sergeants with terminator honours within a veteran squad have access to the armoury.


    Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    2:If a vehicle with WS gets stunned, can it still charge?
    In practise this usually refers to walkers.

    Vehicles stunned may not move or shoot next turn.
    Page 67 of the main rulebook.

    I guess you could argue that this is referring to the 'movement' phase and not to general movement so that the walker could still assault.

    However I would instead interpret this as simply being that the vehicle may not move or shoot next turn.

    As you need to move in order to charge into an assault, obviously stunned vehicles may not assault.

    Poor word choice on GWs part there.


    Just for fun, here's some more bad things about being stunned when you're a walker.

    Stunned walkers fight with one less attack than normal. Down to a minimum of 1.

    Page 72 of the main rulebook.

    As an additional note stunned walkers may not make sweeping advances or consolidation moves.

    Page 73 of the main rulebook.

    Oh and a walker that is already stunned will be hit by hand grenades in close combat on a standard to hit roll based on WS rather than a 6 as per regular.

    Page 72 of the main rulebook.

    In short.

    Don't get stunned, buy extra armour.
    "No one has a monopoly on wisdom."-S.W.G.

    Fluff Master Clan initiate.

    "I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones."-A.E.

    "Before you embark on a journey of revenge, dig two graves."-C.

    New 40K missions here.

  5. #4
    LO Zealot Chaosbrynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,810
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    71 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    1:If you give an entire squad of veterans terminator honours, do they get access to the armoury? If not please provide some good proof because I'm pretty sure the other SM player wont believe me.
    No. Terminator honours ion itself does not give access to the armory. Nowhere does it say that it does. Sergeants in squads can gain access to the armory by purchasing terminator honours, but this has more to do with them being a character then the terminator honours itself.

    There is no page reference we can give you that will say anything like "terminator honours does not confer the ability to take weapons from the armory". Instead, turn it back on this other SM player and ask him to show you where it says terminator honours grant access to the armory. The only place it ever mentions that is when they are specifically talkinb about sergeants or specialists. If you look at the command squad entry youll notice it says who can gain access to the armory by buying termie honours.

    Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    2:If a vehicle with WS gets stunned, can it still charge?
    Only if they have extra armor.
    Mentor of Space Marine Commanders far and wide.

    Efficiency VS Point Cost VS Ease Of Use - Your best bets:

    1) Chaplain led Assault squad - 2 plasma pistols, powerfisted sergeant

    2) 8 man Devastator squad - 4 missile launchers

    3) Land Speeder Tornado - HB + AC

  6. #5
    Member ThatGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Age
    24
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Thanks for the help everyone.(Y)

    The other player i was facing said that his vet. marines all had jump packs and power weapons/fists and such.:wacko:
    The Ten Dimensions

    "I read about something like this in a book." "Are you sure it was a book? Are you sure it wasn't nothing?" "...Oh yeah."-Peter and Brian Griffin

  7. #6
    LO Zealot Grey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waterloo, Ont.
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,020
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    77 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    Thanks for the help everyone.(Y)

    The other player i was facing said that his vet. marines all had jump packs and power weapons/fists and such.:wacko:

    I don't suppose they were blood angels honour guard?
    "No one has a monopoly on wisdom."-S.W.G.

    Fluff Master Clan initiate.

    "I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones."-A.E.

    "Before you embark on a journey of revenge, dig two graves."-C.

    New 40K missions here.

  8. #7
    Member ThatGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Age
    24
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Nope. He was ultramarines.
    The Ten Dimensions

    "I read about something like this in a book." "Are you sure it was a book? Are you sure it wasn't nothing?" "...Oh yeah."-Peter and Brian Griffin

  9. #8
    LO Zealot Tyrael-RM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    32 (x3)

    Besides, even so, if you let him field such, that would cost an insane amount of points, which could be good or bad, dependent if you could handle it, but otherwise as said, they are playing it very wrong.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts