Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, the HQ tactica mentions the following:
"... Basically, you have a souped up Chaplain in Terminator armour (130-160 pts) that is attached to a 7-man Terminator Assault squad with Lightning claws and furious charge in a Land Raider Crusader. ..."
However, I have trouble with the logistics of this in any mission outside Alpha types. Are you really allowed to have an IC join a squad AND hop in their transport prior to battle?
Furthermore, doesn't this type of strategy blow up in Escalation missions?
Did I miss a rule somewhere or do folks just accept the possibility of having these builds fall apart during deployment?
I have to go to a meeting at work, sorry this is terse.
I don't think that you can just throw an IC in an already dedicated transport. Being as it is a dedicated transport, it can only transport the original squad. Ergo, the chaplain not of the original squad cannot be transported.
Hmm... I used to field a five-man squad in a Rhino, and stick my chappie in there, too. Didn't think this violated the rules anywhere, but I'll have to look that one up. My opponents (huge rules-Nazis, many of them are) never complained about it.
More to the point, how is it you can read that HQ Tactica? You talking about the one pinned at the top of the forum? Some of those tacticas work for me, and some don't (SM vs. Necrons doesn't work for me, either).
I don't see a problem there accept that he can't join the squad prior to the battle. As far as I know, if he wants to join a squad in a transport, that's fine, he just has to wait until the game starts and deploy nearby.
even with dedicated transports though...it's dedicated to that squad, which the IC then joins...isn't that alright?
In other news....
Can anybody even start inside a land raider if it's not dedicated? wouldn't they have to wait until turn one to embark anyway?
Canew: This is the tactica I'm referring to: http://www.librarium-online.com/cont...ew/165/16/1/1/
As for dedicated transport, a Termie Assault Squad can take a Land Raider but not the Crusader, which I guess means that the outsized squads would only work when there is no Eslcalation rule in the scenario. Otherwise you have to wait for the Termies (Elite), Chappy (HQ) and LRC (Heavy) to all arrive before you can mount up and go.
Damn, Escalation pretty much ruins a lot of the fun of this plan. It's not like it is even a good plan, I just have the models and would like to give it a try for the fun of it.
Originally Posted by Dark_Angels_Master
Check the rulebook, people - "Dedicated transports may only transport the unit they're bought for plus any IC's that have joined them (provided there's room in the transport)". Right there in black and white. (Pg. 62)
Really though - why wouldn't the commander be able to hop into a transport? Can you picture an Ultramarine tank driver or veteran sergeant telling Marneus, Tigurius, or Cassius to "hey - bugger off and get your own ride!" ???? A Soul Drinker kicking Sarpedon out??? A Blood Angel giving Tycho the boot????
Yeah, Escalation and other such mission formats do tend to poke big holes in the tactic since there's nothing saying the IC, Tank and Squad will arrive together.
but what would happen if you say mounted an IC in a drop pod w/ a 9 man tac squad? would this be allowed or would they enter play as 2 different units?
Let The Blood of our enemies flow!!!
This unfortunately is not allowed due to reserve rolls. As seperate units they deploy seperately when in reserve. They both require a pod, reserve roll and scatter roll of their own.Originally Posted by timrtrav
Only way to get an IC in a pod with a squad is with a command squad.
Mentor of Space Marine Commanders far and wide.
Efficiency VS Point Cost VS Ease Of Use - Your best bets:
1) Chaplain led Assault squad - 2 plasma pistols, powerfisted sergeant
2) 8 man Devastator squad - 4 missile launchers
3) Land Speeder Tornado - HB + AC