Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I had thought that it was not permitted to have Imperial Guard as allies for marines (and I am thinking here of straight Black Templars), but in another forum there is discussion about having Imperial Guard as allies.
I have looked at the Marine Codex and cannot find the reference to allies - though in the subordinate Codex's there are references to allies. If it is correct that IG can be used as allies - what limitations are there?
are Marine and IG not both part of the Imperium?
Why would they not be allowed to ally?
Victory needs no explanation, defeat allows none.
Under the current 4th ed rules the only current allies system that is running are the Ordo Codexs (Daemonhunters and Witchhunters). In these codexs you can take things out and add them to your Space Marine or Imperial Guard army, or use Inducted Space Marines and Imperial guard within them.
That being said I there is only one legal way that I know of to place space marines with Imperial guard (space marines not grey knights) and that is to take a Deathwatch Kill teams as an HQ choice for Imperial Guard. I know of no way to place imperial guard in a space marine army.
Hope this helps
Yes this was where I was going with this, because the Daemonhunters and Witch hunters are the only armies that appear to be able to take allies - and this is where there is a split between taking IG or taking Marines.
A pity really because I would really like the option of taking some heavy support in my Marine (Black Templar) force with those handy big blast templates.
Thankyou - helps indeed
The Emperor Protects!
As a DH, WH, and IG player, I can safely say that no, you cannot legally add SM and IG into the same army. You may, if your opponent agrees, field an IG/SM mix. Or you may use multiple Force Organization Charts (one for SM, one for IG). But a straight up legal mix? Nope.
Some confusion might come from the fact that both Inquisition armies are allowed to induct ONE allied contingent (IG or SM), and that you can also combine the second Inquisition army into the first one's list (so base DH with inducted IG and allied WH, for example). Some people might think that those allied WH in the example right there can take their own inducted IG or SM, but this is expressly forbidden in both the DH & WH codices. Likewise, if you ally DH or WH to your SM force, you cannot use any inducted contingents in those DH/WH allies, due to the same rule.
So the answer is still no.
I dont know mEGA, if you use the LatD list your able to pull it off. You wont be fielding platoons of twenty five and you wont have access to some of the options of IG and marines but you can legally pull it off that way... (Admittedly you can only use about seventy marines in a LatD army unless retinue chosen do not take up a force org slot other than the one taken by the HQ they are with.:wacko: )Originally Posted by mEGALOMANIAC
Last edited by darkreever; April 21st, 2006 at 18:39.
Take my love, take my land, take me to where I cannot stand; I don't care I'm still free, you can't take the sky from me.
"The difference between gods and daemons largely depends upon where one is standing at the time."- Lorgar
Member of the Fluff Masters Clan
There are 2 things going on there
The first one is game balance...no of course, you can't use Leman Russes with templars or any other marines. Why? Because the codexes are designed to be balanced (more or less) and mixing the best units from each codex would lead to some crazy army.
Inquisitor codexes and LatD have their own limitations which keep the forces balanced.
So no, no alliance Marines/IG for game's balance sake (and here, we're talking about tournament style games).
However, here comes the second part: fluff!
IG and marines are both part of the imperium. Even though they have different and mostly independent command structures, there have been many instances where they closely cooperated at the tactical scale (that's a game of W40k), for example during the 3rd war for armageddon.
So, for multi-player games, IG and marines (along with witch- and daemonhunters) make great allies.
In this type of game, game balance matters less than fluff and storyline, so it's ok to have TWO DIFFERENT PLAYERS fielding one IG and the other marines...or more people, by the way!
Furthermore, given that they each have their own list, they will not be as efficient as a single list that incorporates both armies. And 2 players tend to be less efficient than one because of coordination issues.
Hope it helps!
"Politics is the womb in which war develops"
I was under the impression that like with GK, as long as you get a IG HQ you can get their troops and maybe some extra stuff. Granted I've never tried it but that's the understanding I have.
I dont have the codex or main rules handy but I don't remember anything about limiting who can ally with who as long as the HQ was brought along.
May your aim be true, and your targets plentiful.
Where does it say you can take IG as long as you take a command HQ?Originally Posted by Escaflowne
In the space marine codex's it tells you what your choices are for allies, as it does with IG
If at first you dont succeed, skydiving is not for you.
As a SM player, the only possible compromise I know of that lets you put both in the same army is using a SM army with an allied DH stormtrooper unit. Not sure that'll give you what you're looking for, though.