Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Chaplains. I know it says in the BA codex that a chaplain must lead a death company, but is it possible for you to have a chaplain also lead an assault squad, or a terminator chaplain lead a squad of terminators? I know you can give the death company jumppacks, but I'd also like to be able to control where they go instead of at the nearest enemy, like the death company. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. :yes:
From what the codex says nromal chappies MUST take the death company escort.
The exception is lemartes, you dont have to buy his retinue and u can use him as a normal indepentant.
A FAQ might have changed it i didnt check any of em
Thanks. Does anyone know if a Terminator Chaplain can lead Terminators in a BA army?
hmm. Well lemartes though he kicks uber ass can't be upgraded in any way, so no termie armour for him.
A normal master of sanctity MUST take his retinue, and DC marines cant wear termie armour.
Theres nothing in the codex that says terminator chappies cant lead the DC, but does anyone know if theres an instance of terminators leading power armoured marines?
Well a group is only as fast as its slowest member so i guess the speed restrictions of the armour might aplly to all if thats the case.
Probably stating the obvious here but: I reckon your chaplain could wear Terminator Armour but you would totally destroy the effectiveness of your DC - Can't take a Rhino (does anyone anyway?!) because it can't transport Terms and even if you give your DC Jump Packs they can only move as fast as the Chappy in Term armour so they are pointless! And since the Chappy is always going to be last to die the situation will never get better!
"Knowledge is Truth, Guard it Well"
correct. You can purchase terminator armour for your chaplain should you wish. However he cannot then lead a death company in a rhino or with jump packs. By the same token he cannot join any other squad as he MUST lead the death company if you decide to take him.
basically you are left with a tank leading a foot slogging death company...not everyones idea of a good plan, but could be useful in small games with alot of terrain...but pointless as for less points than termy armour your chappy could have a 2 + save and a 4+ invulnerable save (free anyways)...so sadly the terminator chaplain in blood angels armies is a bit redundant
such is the price we pay
Never judge someone until you've walked a mile in their shoes...by that time they'll be a mile away, and have no shoes
No, a chappy must lead DC, with the exception of leaonarties, all BA chappies come with a DC component, the only way they can join another squad would be if DC got wiped out, at which point they become ICs and revert to their rules.
Buying your chappy ternminator armour changes very little, clearly you can not then get him a jump pack, nor can he travel in a rhino, but he still gets DC, although they dont have termie armour
Everything you have been told is a lie!
Thanks for the info guys. I geuss i'll just have to find a time and place to use my Termie Chaplain. Don't want him getting lonely on the shelf. Thanks again.:hmm:
just give him articifer armour and use the termie model. In non tourney games i wouldnt see any problem with it, as long as you explained it to your opponent. And its pretty much like using a proxie which would probably be accepted because its an actual model, not a coke can carnifex or something.
If you want to control a DC without using a chaplain or SHP, take the rhino and not jumppacks. The rhino is not subject to the DC rules and so doesn't need to advance towards the nearest enemy. It's kinda like keeping them caged up
Also remember that if your chaplain has a 2+ save he will still be subject to the majority armour rule. That means that as long as one DC member is alive the chaplain will still only get a 3+ save from shooting.
Also even if you take a termy chaplain you still get the free rhino (you just can't get in it).
In an hour of darkness a blind man is the best guide. In an age of insanity look to the madman to show the way.