Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi i just wanna check up on the rule regaurding power fists, do any models using the power fist attack with a init of 1. and i'm talking about termie's dred's and what about the tech marine how does he work when using the servo harness and his power weapon?
Im pretty sure any model attacking w/ a powerfist attacks with the init of 1 even if it has init bonuses. As for the servo arms, i dont know if they're powerfist or close combat weapons. so here's how the techie will attack. first, he'll fire the bolter and the plasma pistol or whatever in shooty phase. after that, he can go into assault phase. he has an initiative of 4, so his power weapon, the additional attack from the plasma pistol (i think, correct me if i'm wrong), and the 2 servo arms will all attack with the initiative of 4. If the servo arms count as power fists, they will hit with an init of 1 (so they would go last).
I believe dreadnoughts are the exception to this rule, as they do not techincally have a powerfist, instead they have a seperate weapon, called Dreadnought CCWs, so i believe dreadnoughst strike in initiative order, while anything other powerfist strikes at iniative one, even when being charged in cover, or assaulting with furious charge.
If you think about a venerable furious charge dreadnought already has 10 strength, so the only bonus would be initiative, thus, the DCCW strikes in initative order.Make powerweapon attacks when the techmarines initiative round comes up, make servo harness attacks as though it where any other powerfist.tech marine how does he work when using the servo harness and his power weapon?
Last edited by ForgedInTheFurnaceOfWar; April 27th, 2006 at 10:21.
Do Powerfists strike at I1 even if you're being assaulted in cover? I only ask, because this came up the other day, and people weren't sure (normally your I becomes 10 if you're assaulted in cover without grenades involved).
powerfists always stirke at init 1. this isnt changed by special rules, cover, grenades or wargear.
BOOKS OF THE IMPERIUM
176. Thou shalt not refer to Ork Dreadnoughts as 'garbage bins'.
195. Thou shalt not shave the Space Wolves while they are asleep .
213. Thou shalt not challenge a Daemon Prince to a fist fight.
220. Seraphims do not want to join the "Mile High Club".
Basically they covered it, but, since I'm a hack, I'll recap.
Dreadnaughts do not have Power Fists; they have Dreadnaught Close Combat Weapons. Dreadnaught Close Combat Weapons strike at normal Initiative (modified normally).
Power Fists always, always, always strike at Initiative 1. No exceptions.
The Techmarine with a Servo Harness is an oddity among models in that it's allowed to make attacks with two different types of weapons. It makes its Power Weapon attacks at normal Initiative (modified normally) and then, if it's still alive by Initiative 1, it gets two Power Fist attacks at Initiative 1 (and these can never be modified to be above Initiative 1, just like any other Power Fist.)
You state that the tech-marine with a harness is an execption in that he can use different weapons in the same round - for instance, Karandras, the phoenix lord has a Biting Blade /and/ a Powerfist. Jain Zar has the Storm of Silence /and/ an executioner. Can he/she not split his/her attacks between these two weapons in a CC round, or does he have to use one or the other for the duration of that round?
models cannot split attacks between weapons as far as i know. A model with a powerfist and power weapon chooses which he attacks with for that turn. The techmarine is an exception
this is my understanding anyways, i may be wrong
Never judge someone until you've walked a mile in their shoes...by that time they'll be a mile away, and have no shoes
the only other exception is logan grimnar
2000pts Orks 4-2-1
yeah, as stated before, power fist strikes at initivie 1, nomatter what. This is like an unwritten law, same as rerolls can never be rerolled. And techmarines r kool, 5 attacks on the charge + servo arm attacks if they didnt survive, and thats after gettin plasmapistoled/flamed first
Only a librarian of doom can match that
Current Professional Career
Total Gaming Career since 29/02/06