Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Now this may have been mentioned somewhere else but just searching for the term Doctrines was too broad.
Is there such thing as an Order of Precedent in Doctrines?
I say this because of the wording in a doctrine like Mechanized which uses must and all
while something like saying Light Infantry says +10 points per unit.
Now since thse are mutally exclusive does Mechanized outweight LI?
Or can I have one Mech Platoon and one LI platoon in the same army?
it just says they can't be combined.
but since li is per unit i was wondering about the ability to "pre-empt" mechanization by making some squads LI.
Or is that Mechanized pre-empts all because it uses words like "all Guard infantry must"
After all you can use LI and Jungle fighters in the same regiment heck you can even put them on the same squad since it doesn't say you can't.
Additionally Spec Equip doctrine specifically says all models must have so I suppose that answers the rules on "must" as pre-empting.
Gandi is right, you can't have both doctrines in the same army. "All infantry must do this" outweighs the "+10 pointa per unit of infantry that is capable of doing this".
Tyranids: 2500 pts
Imperial Guard: 1000 pts
Witch Hunters: 1000 pts
One thing to remember about Drop Troops and Mechanized though: All guard infantry in mech armies MUST have a chimera, where as in Drop Troops only Guard Infantry WITHOUT chimeras may be deep striked.
So even though the two doctrines can be combined, it is impossible to take a Mech platoon and a Drop Troops platoon, all the infantry in the army must have chimeras. It is impossible to evade the chimera requirement on a platoon because of the way the Drop Troops and Mechanized Doctrines are worded.
So in that sense I suppose there is an order of precedent.
I've often wondered why Drop Troops and Mechanized can be combined at all, of course even with a mech army the Guard player can still use Drop Troops to wreak some havoc with a few Sentinels.
Last edited by Tom Servo; May 2nd, 2006 at 07:51.
That's no ordinary rabbit! That's the most foul, cruel and bad tempered rodent you ever set eyes on!
Look that rabbit's got a vicious street a mile wide, he's a killer!