Drop Pod question. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    40
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    Drop Pod question.

    hey all i'm new to the game and plan on building a deathwing drop pod army. but before i start spending alot of green, i want to know if i use drop pods then can they all arive on the same turn? i have the bgb and the sm codex, but having never actually seen drop pods used i would like to know how they work.

    when can they arrive?

    can they arrive on the same turn?

    what can the occupants do on the turn they drop?

    lastly, are the worth it? or should i go with the obviously mer expensive LRC?


    thanks in advance for all your help.
    bro A


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Arrive as reserves deep striking. Follow all rules for deep striking. Can't assault, count as moving etc...

    Personally i like them, they offer quick and safe transport for marines. I have only seen one person use them in an actual game, it was full of space marines, that were too close to a dreadnought and a Chappy on bike. needless to say they didn't last long.

    Drop pods do block line of sight, as a result they can be beneficial that way.

    I am sure there is more about them, i just don't it, yet.

  4. #3
    LO Zealot magnet_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    126 (x4)

    Read pg 84 of the BGB to find out how deep striking works. Then read the bottom of pg 21 of the SM Codex to see how drop pods have a few rules exceptions (basically they're not destroyed if they come in on impassable terrain or enemy troops).

    The couple of times I've DPed troops I've learned that you need to have multiple DPs. Kind of an all or nothing deal. But, I don't use them that much so I may not be the best person to ask for strategy.
    Tim Wright

    "The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
    -John Gilmore

  5. #4
    LO's Resident Time Lord Canew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    New England, USA
    Age
    43
    Posts
    3,270
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    457 (x8)

    That reminds me: Can they scatter off the table? Codex doesn't say.

  6. #5
    LO Zealot magnet_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    126 (x4)

    Yes they can be destroyed by scattering off the table edge. The only thing that the drop corrects for is enemy troops and impassable terrain. Off the table edge is neither. Think of the DP as landing in some other battle that your forces are not involved with or landing so far away that the troops can't make it to your battle in time to help.

    EDIT:
    I gave a better explanation in this post. No one complained about my explanation so I assume there was no flaws in the logic.
    Last edited by magnet_man; May 1st, 2006 at 00:43.
    Tim Wright

    "The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
    -John Gilmore

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Connecticut
    Age
    39
    Posts
    77
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    I have a DP question, So instead of makeing a new thread ill just ask it here.

    DPs are non mobile transport. So when it comes to the end of the game while calculating victory points do they count as immobleised? sence they are infact a non mobile vehicle.

  8. #7
    The Orange Grey Knight MiketehFox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,830
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    196 (x8)

    Actually, they are non-mobile transports, and seeing as other Transports don't count for VPs or Capturing things, niether can DPs.

    Mike

  9. #8
    LO Zealot magnet_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    126 (x4)

    Well, I don't know about the scoring purposes of DPs. I've seen it stated that they are and that they aren't scoring units. Our house rules in our league have it so that they are scoring just like a mobile vehicle, unless they've gotten the immobilise hit in the Vehicle Damage Chart. In other words we treat it like a normal vehicle when it comes to scoring. It just has a movement distance of 0".

    I tried to find the thread where this was debated and couldn't after 15 min of looking. I didn't really follow it because of our house rule regarding the issue. I'm sure there's someone around who would like to express their opinion on the issue though
    Tim Wright

    "The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
    -John Gilmore

  10. #9
    LO Zealot magnet_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    126 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by MiketehFox
    Actually, they are non-mobile transports, and seeing as other Transports don't count for VPs or Capturing things, niether can DPs.

    Mike
    Pg 85 says that dedicated transports cannot capture objects, but do count towards VPs.
    Tim Wright

    "The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
    -John Gilmore

  11. #10
    Senior Member rat of vengence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Australia, the crowded bit.
    Age
    43
    Posts
    251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    25 (x1)

    I have found a single drop pod to be of best use in objectives battles. You can pod in an 8 man squad with 2 meltas and a powerfist, bound to spoil anyones day. the problem is when you scatter too far, like 9 inches away from the enemy, then they end up walking anyway. Still, they are fun...

    RoV
    Beware the Agapanthers!

    Codex Astartes: More a guideline than a rule...

    Romans 8:38

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts