Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
can you ally guardsmen to spacemarines?? i havent found anything that says you cant but ive heard you cant you can do it. however you can do it the othr way around spacemarines allied 2 I.G. is this true? i'd really like to get some guard and if i could ally them to my marines it'd be really nice while im building up the army.
I think this should go at Rules questions, but meh.
For anwser, I don't know, I think the two could team up both being Imperial and such.
For thoughs, rephrase the question, it's hard to read something that looks like 1 sentence and 5 questions.
So long as you use two FOC you may combine any two armies. However, marines fluff wise, do not directly command Imperial gaurd. This is because marines have the tendancy to use them as meat shields, as the fluff goes, or so it would seem, another darker reason is that if the marines should betray the imperium again, they want at least some IG regments to fight back.
the short answer no.
But again, with to FOC you can use what ever you want, even DAs with fall dark angles, man that unfluffy, but legal. However, if you use two, your opponent should be given the option.
If your woundering if you can field demon hunters with allies IG/SM the answer is no.
Nor may you field greyknights with marines.
ForgedInTheFurnaceOfWar basically has it:
* You may NOT take IG and SM in the same army.
* You MAY take two seperate Force Organization Charts (FOCs), one containing a full legal IG army and one containing a full legal SM army, as long as you have your opponent's permission.
* You can mimic a similar type of army by playing Daemonhunters with inducted Imperial Guard. Grey Knights are a specialized type of space marines that are a part of the Daemonhunters list.
Please don't double post new threads - this exact same thread is also in the Rules forum.
Last edited by mEGALOMANIAC; May 7th, 2006 at 15:45.
Tiss the other way around Forged. (The way you said it sounds backwards is all. Marines as parent list can take them, knights as parent list cannot.)Originally Posted by ForgedInTheFurnaceOfWar
Bear, the only list that can have any form of marines with any form of gaurdsmen legally iun the same list is Lost and the Damned, and they arent really considered an order army...
Take my love, take my land, take me to where I cannot stand; I don't care I'm still free, you can't take the sky from me.
"The difference between gods and daemons largely depends upon where one is standing at the time."- Lorgar
Member of the Fluff Masters Clan
In the times of the Great Crusades, the Space Marine Legions once commanded or worked with Imperial Guard, but they don't anymore for the same reason that the Legions were split into chapters.
The other reason was that the Imperial Guard always had a tough time keeping up with the Marines' demands. As superhumans, Marines have a much more relentless style of warfare than the Imperial Guard do, and where normal men would have to rest, the Marines would want to move on and continue fighting.
"Courage is not the absence of fear, it is the conquest of it." -Anon
thanks guys for the help.
ruined my plans for a legal i.g. sm army but im sure most of people down at my local club wont mind to much if i field them as two seperate lists...
oh and sorry for any annoyance with the double post of this is the rules and sm sections i was going on advice to post this in rules section instead and i dont know how close this thread... how can i?