deepstriking unit and character - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    The Pointy Eared elfwarden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    in the Netherlands, Apeldoorn
    Age
    27
    Posts
    999
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    22 (x2)

    deepstriking unit and character

    i dion't know if this has been aksed before but i searched and could not find anithing.

    the question.

    if i have a chaplain and assault squad, do i have to seperatly for the reserve and scatter role or can the can be combined so that they will land together?

    thanks

    "Ask not the Eldar a question, for they will give you three answers; all of which are true and terrifying to know"

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Tactical Avante-Gard <E!_Mance>'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Yeppoon, QLD, Australia
    Age
    29
    Posts
    2,095
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    108 (x6)

    They'd have to be separate.
    Post your army lists in the ARMY LIST section! Not that hard!
    48W/7D/11L

  4. #3
    The Fallen Cheredanine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    SW England
    Age
    48
    Posts
    7,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    411 (x8)

    Ditto, both the reserve and deepstrike/scatter rolls are seperate, onyl characters with a bodyguard bought as a singl HQ choice for the 2 can deploy together from deepstrike
    Everything you have been told is a lie!


  5. #4
    Tactical Avante-Gard <E!_Mance>'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Yeppoon, QLD, Australia
    Age
    29
    Posts
    2,095
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    108 (x6)

    Yup! The only team which can deep-strike Assault Sqauds at the same time as the character is the Blood Angels with their Death Company and Honour Guard...
    Post your army lists in the ARMY LIST section! Not that hard!
    48W/7D/11L

  6. #5
    The Fallen Cheredanine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    SW England
    Age
    48
    Posts
    7,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    411 (x8)

    Ha -got you - shrikes wing!
    Everything you have been told is a lie!


  7. #6
    Tactical Avante-Gard <E!_Mance>'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Yeppoon, QLD, Australia
    Age
    29
    Posts
    2,095
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    108 (x6)

    Shh!
    Post your army lists in the ARMY LIST section! Not that hard!
    48W/7D/11L

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    79
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    If you drop pod an IC with any unit they can ride in the same drop pod. Some of the FAQ's are out of date since the new SM codex came out and I asked my local GW manager about it and he found no rules that said you couldn't place an IC with a drop pod unit, however, teleporting or such might be different even though similiar rules apply on how they enter the game.

  9. #8
    LO Oldie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    1,248
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    34 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by rodgambit
    he found no rules that said you couldn't place an IC with a drop pod unit,
    See the part where it says IC's join units at the start of the movement phase its the same principle as the assault squad + chaplain jump pack
    2000pts Orks 4-2-1

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    79
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    So in theory when you drop pod your 1st movement phase is in space on the ship and that is when they attach. Then round 2+ they start dropping in on your opponent. Like I said the local GW GM says we can attach IC to drop pod units so that's what we go off. Logically it makes sense that if an army is about to drop in on the enemy they would attach whatever units before hand in the pod rather then be like, "sorry sir, you know we can't let you in our pod, you must take your own despite the fact your our revered leader."

  11. #10
    LO Zealot magnet_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    126 (x4)

    That sounds like a house rule to me. It makes sense, but according to the rules I don't think you can do that. Drop pods have to follow normal DSing rules (except for the scatter into enemy units/impassable terrain). According to the DS rules, you have to roll separately for IC's unless the IC can be attached to the unit before deployment. Just another one of those rules that flies in the face of logic.

    For specific page info on this, page 84 under Reserves (since DSing units use Reserve rules to figure out when to come onto the table). It says each FOC is diced separately. So since the Chaplain at the beginning of this post is an HQ choice and the Assault Squad is a Fast Attack, they have to be rolled separately. Since the Drop Pod rules don't negate this aspect of the Reserve rules, you have to use them. But if your GM let's you, cool cause it does make sense.
    Tim Wright

    "The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
    -John Gilmore

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts