Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just noticed something interesting from the Tau Empire codex. The Cyclic Ion Blaster (special issue weapon for Crisis suits) has an interesting (and very similar rule). On a roll of 6 to wound, it's wounds counts as AP1. The kicker is the additional item - it does so regardless of the target's toughness.
Now, if we could get a new FAQ with this nice caveat, the nightbringers and wraithlords will have something to fear from Sisters.
almost the same as rending, on a roll of 6 to hit it auto wounds with no armor save, irregardless of toughness.
leave the moderating to the moderators
if pro is the opposite of con, does that mean progress is the opposite of congress?
I just did the math.
If you have a squad of 10 Sisters with rapid firing on a Carnifex should produce 2.23 (Divine Guidance) Wounds.
Better than a kick in th shorts, but I would finish him off with a Excorcist or two!
"A love for tradition has never weakened a nation, indeed it has strengthened nations in their hour of peril."
Sir Winston Churchil
Sigh.. 2.23 wounds sounds nice from a statistic math..
I just played a game against my chaos friend whome I shot 20 rapid fire at and only managed with 5 hits, then further wound them with a 6, 1, 1, 2, 3..... On the follow turn, my faithless sisters was being shot at by 8 auto cannon shots from the havoc squad, 7 hits, 7 wounds.. and i rolled 1, 1, 1, 2, 6, 3 :cry:
... sigh... :x
Not to mention i rolled a 1 for my rhino difficault terrain test on the 2nd turn.......... my 2 rhinos + 1 immo was downed on the 2nd turn as well..... *CRY!!*
hmmm nightbringers and wraithlords have too higher toughness for bolters to wound them, remember it counts as ap 1 not cause an instant wound. To be honest, I'd just stick with using exorcist missles to deal with monsterous creatures and vechicals and leave "Divine Guidance" for heavy infantry.
That's exactly why I made comment. If the Tau weapon is a new interpretation of how the "6 to wound is AP1", it means a squad of sisters could take apart these big beasties with a simple Act of Faith. With the way the CIB reads, you roll a 6 to wound, you wound anything regardless of it's toughness (and it's a S3 weapon)!Originally Posted by Heiromyo
hmmm no....I don't think the new interpertation is anything like that, it's just an assault 6 weapon that works exactly like "Divine Guidance" without having to roll for faith points. ie, ap 1 on a roll of a 6 to wound, it's still strength 3 and it still has to be strong enough to wound a target to do anything. This is what I saw when I read it, I'll double check when I get the chance...but I'm sure of this 90%.
Besides, the rule for that gun is not a generic rule like the scout rule, so even if it did work how you think it would only apply to Tau unless stated otherwise (Else where obviously like online FAQs and codex updates). Your best bet is looking for changes in the Witch Hunters Faith FAQ.
I think it might have to be FAQ'ed on it own in the Tau section - I'll check there in case any body noticed that.Originally Posted by HeiromyoWell, that should be the reason behind the universal rules, weapon types, and the like. If you define it one place then all you have to do when you want a weapon or model with a "special" ability - point to that rule and you're done. No need to cut and paste (and get that wrong), or suffer with the multitude of "fleet of xx" which explains what happens and how you do it when it is just in the universal rules. If they want to have this ability "6 to wound is AP1" just make up a new mechanic in one place and say "model/weapon has ~this~".Originally Posted by Heiromyo
Admittedly, yes that rule only applies to said weapon - but you are correct that I would like to see it FAQ'ed for DG, although I wouldn't hold my breath until Codex: Ordos comes out.
Heiromyo is correct, the CIB doesn't "auto-wound" any more than DG does. If you roll a 6 to wound it's AP1, but it's only S3 (which means it CANNOT cause wounds against T7+ creatures.Originally Posted by Heiromyo
Just like DG bolters can't hurt T8 creatures. Even on 6s to wound.
This issue was never in dispute in my mind.
The use of "N" on the "Damage Chart" on p.42 says it.
Sisters Repentia: Wow what beautiful models! Wow what terrible rules! -stjohn70