Hurricane Bolters - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Member Ferias1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Agoura Hills, CA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Hurricane Bolters

    My friend and i were arguing about this today. I said since bolters are rapid fire, each sponson on the Crusader fires 12 shots, not including twin-linked rule. He said that they each fired 6. Can you help me with my porblem?

    No Pity! No Remorse! No Fear!
    Black Templars

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Eternal Crusader Helbrecht's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Washington
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,968
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    116 (x5)

    If they are within 12 inches they can rapid fire just like bolters or fire 6 shots if they are over 12 inches. So you are correct, please enlighten your friend, I think he got some rule mixed up, maybe with the old armageddon hurricane bolter rules from 3rd edition.
    Xbox Gamertag: x Helbrecht x

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Hang on, the Space Marine Codex states that each Hurricane bolter consists of 3 twin linked boltguns.

    Therefore, each sponson can fire either 6 shots (2 x 3) at 12 inches or 3 at 12 inches, which then can be re-rolled due to the twin-linking

  5. #4
    Eternal Crusader Helbrecht's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Washington
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,968
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    116 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by SoldierofFortune
    Hang on, the Space Marine Codex states that each Hurricane bolter consists of 3 twin linked boltguns.

    Therefore, each sponson can fire either 6 shots (2 x 3) at 12 inches or 3 at 12 inches, which then can be re-rolled due to the twin-linking
    Yes for a combined total of 12 at 12 inches and 6 at 24 inches.
    Xbox Gamertag: x Helbrecht x

  6. #5
    Ender of Threads Wraith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    256 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by Helbrecht
    Yes for a combined total of 12 at 12 inches and 6 at 24 inches.
    Yeah, but look a little closer at the initial question, helbrecht...

    Quote Originally Posted by Ferias1
    since bolters are rapid fire, each sponson on the Crusader fires 12 shots

    If you're assuming 12 shots from each sponson, for a combined total of 24, you're dead wrong, Ferias. You've got a grand total of 6 TL Bolters, for a maximum of 12 shots within 12 inches.
    We've got plenty of youth... How about a fountain of smart?


  7. #6
    LO Zealot XenomarinesKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Southington, CT, USA
    Age
    25
    Posts
    723
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    54 (x2)

    don't forget to take the storm bolter, for 2 extra TL shots. yay!


    Remember, if someone helps you with anything, REP THEM!


    Quote Originally Posted by 10th Lyran View Post
    "Wow, that's awesome, I wish my leg looked like that!"

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    190
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    23 (x1)

    Actually the Storm Bolter isn't tiwn-linked. It's just a normal stormbolter, but the Assult Cannon is twin-linked.

  9. #8
    LO Zealot XenomarinesKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Southington, CT, USA
    Age
    25
    Posts
    723
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    54 (x2)

    well, don't you get 2 shots, that can have rerolls for a SB? i might be a bit more confused than usual.


    Remember, if someone helps you with anything, REP THEM!


    Quote Originally Posted by 10th Lyran View Post
    "Wow, that's awesome, I wish my leg looked like that!"

  10. #9
    Eternal Crusader Helbrecht's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Washington
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,968
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    116 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by Wraith
    Yeah, but look a little closer at the initial question, helbrecht...
    If you're assuming 12 shots from each sponson, for a combined total of 24, you're dead wrong, Ferias. You've got a grand total of 6 TL Bolters, for a maximum of 12 shots within 12 inches.
    I read it a little too fast and it was late last night, didn't catch that.

    well, don't you get 2 shots, that can have rerolls for a SB? i might be a bit more confused than usual.
    I think you got the chaos combi bolter rule mixed up with storm bolters, combi bolters can reroll failed hits.
    Last edited by Helbrecht; May 28th, 2006 at 05:23.
    Xbox Gamertag: x Helbrecht x

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    190
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    23 (x1)

    A storm bolter gets 2 shots, that's all. No re-roll to wound, no re-roll to hit.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts