Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm expanding my Black Templar army and want to include a LRC with a few assault termies and have a chaplin in termie armor leading them. My question is should I give the chaplin a PF? The way I see it is a storm bolter is not much use in an assault squad, that and he would then also get a paired weapon bonus.
Also how would you model the PF on the chaplin? I was thinking of using the assault marine PF since it's right handed and it's pointing which would suit the chaplins stance. The only problem I have with it is it looks a little small when compared to the rest of the chaplin.
Go with twin lightning claws, you can have plenty of power fist (well thunder hammer, but as good as) goodness in an assault termy squad and IC's with PFs get owned in cc because they can be picked out.
Revenge is a dish best served with mayonnaise and those little cheesy things on sticks.
+++ Osric the Loopy, planetary governor of Corania (appointed 756.M41, removed from office by the Officio Assassinorum 764.M41) +++
Also I wouldnt put them in a LRC. Thats to many eggs in one basket. If i were you i would keep the power weapon and give him a lc. That way he gets the 2 cc bonus but no 2 lc bonus. Also his PW is free so dont add on more points then needed.
Take a look at the rules again the only way to get an extra attack w/ lightning claws is a another lightning claw. He can't claim an extra cc attack if he has a power weapon and a lc, its either a power weapon and a ccw or two lcs you can't mix and match to get the extra ccw bonus with a lc.Originally Posted by DerkaDerka
I would just add a ccw and attach him to a assault termie squad with 7 guys, 5 with lc and 2 with th and ss mounted in a lrc. This combo for black templars has never failed me and tends to wipe out every squad it assaults.
Xbox Gamertag: x Helbrecht x
Another option (though expensive) is a powerfist. You get the extra attack and have the choice of Crozius going on initiative order or Fist for when you have a really hard target.
RecklessFable's Journey to Mediocrity (Painting an IG army)
I've been addicted to World of Tanks lately and neglecting my IG... But it is so... much... fun!
Don't think you can give a termie-armoured model a plain CCW. If you want to give him anything it'll have to be a PW or a PF. Personally I would go for a PW, as characters such as chaplains can be singled out in HtH so don't want to be hitting last. C'Tan Pooky is correct saying that a storm bolter would be next to useless - the extra HtH attack would be better.Originally Posted by Helbrecht
Putting all these guys in a LRC is risky thing to do. They will form a deadly HtH unit, but your opponent will likely know that an put alot into destroying them before they reaches his lines(you can use this to your advantage however). If I were you I would save this combi for the larger games - it'll be too much of a points sink in smaller ones.
Hope this helps
I'd just like to add my voice to those saying that it's a bit too expensive and risky.
a squad of 7 assault terminators plus chaplain in an LRC is, at the least, 680pts. And you could lose all of it from a single ordnance shot, say, from an exorcist, which costs a bit over 100 points.
I'll let you make you own judgement on whether that is a good idea or not.
"You challenge me knowing that I am Xiahou Dun!?"
I have seen it used to great effect, 7 terminators with LC's and a chaplin with crozius and PF all in a LRC will steam roll over just about anything.
Giving the chaplin a powerfist is a good idea, why? well if he goes toe to toe with another HQ (say, wolf lord) he stands a better chance of killing him (as the wolf lord is unlikely to kill the chaplin first).
It also gives you options, just in case they get charged by a dreadnaught there is a chance the chaplin can take it out.
. You're right, go with a thunder hammer than. If you use the new chalpain model it should come out like this.http://www.librarium-online.com/gall...&searchid=2488Don't think you can give a termie-armoured model a plain CCW. If you want to give him anything it'll have to be a PW or a PF
Xbox Gamertag: x Helbrecht x