Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
hi. im thinking of starting a new army because i have been collecting Black Templars for about 5 years now and i want a change. i came to the conclusion that i wanted a witch hunters army because i can have different imperial units with it. what i really want now is a squad or 2 of grey knights. can i do this?
You can have allied DH in WH army or vice versa.
Start off by buying both Codexes, everything about allying both ways is in clear print.
Many believe that Grey Knights adds good stuff to WH, so go for it!
"And that, my liege, is how we know the earth to be banana-shaped"
Fuard is right on, buy both 'Dexes first. Grey Knights add the CC punch that WHs miss some of the time. I would much rather have a squad of 10 Grey Knights than 10 Repentia.Originally Posted by Fuard
"A love for tradition has never weakened a nation, indeed it has strengthened nations in their hour of peril."
Sir Winston Churchil
I like several different armies mostly because a few of the models look cool, and I've read in other places as well as seen a reference here to the fact that DH and WH armies can be combined, or that WH armies can have space marines or IG or what not... so I'm curious, before I go out and buy 3 or 4 codexes to plot out exactly how I might make my evil scheme become a reality, is it possile to combine several armies at once, say like some termie grey knights, a termie chaplain (again I just like the way some of these models look) maybe a canoness or female inquisitor with crusaders and a squad or two of battle sisters, with a few squads of Black Templar space marines and an Emporers champian... some black templar bikes and rhino troop carriers.... perhaps even some IG units like sanctioned psykers or an IG tank or two like a Leman Russ.....
Or am I hoping against hope for a chance to combine all of my favorite cool units in a mad dream that will never become a tournament legal reality?
Last edited by agile_yoda; June 20th, 2006 at 21:56.
If you have Grey Knights you may not use space marines
I don't think you can use Space Marines if you have Sisters of battle
You may have two different Ordo Inquisitors in the same army
You may have grey knights and imperial guard
You may have sisters of battle and imperial guard
I'm not sure if you can have grey knights and sisters of battle
.... Or thats how i think it goes
Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered, weak and weary,
Over many a quaint and curious volume of forgotten lore
While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a tapping,
"'Tis some visitor," I muttered, "tapping at my chamber door-
Only this, and nothing more."
Space Marines can never be present alongside sisters of battle, sorry...
Last night I stayed up late playing poker with Tarot cards. I got a full house and four people died.
Recheck the WH codex. It says you can use Sisters as an ally to a SM chapter, but you cannot use SM in a Witch Hunter army that has Sisters. (pg 25)Originally Posted by Apachetear
Originally Posted by Montford981
Basically, if your base army is Space Marines, you may include allied contingents from BOTH the Daemonhunters and the Witch Hunters. Grey Knights and/or Sisters of Battle included.
The first step is to have the mandatory 1 HQ & 2 Troops from your base SM list. Without these, no allies are legal.
Once you have that, you may choose from DH and/or WH. You're limited to 0-1 HQ, 0-1 Elite, 0-2 Troops, 0-1 Fast Attack, and 0 Heavy Support choices from each allied contingent. But these slots come from the same FOC as your SM do. What that means is, while there's a 0-1 DH HQ and 0-1 WH HQ limit, a standard FOC only allows for a max of two HQ units. And since one HQ choice must come from your base SM list, you may only include one other HQ choice - SM, DH, or WH, but not one from each. This works the same for each FOC slot - a MAX of three Elites between the three armies, a MAX of six Troops between the three armies, etc.
You must still obey normal unit limits and rules. To use an Assassin, for example, you MUST have an Inquisitor Lord from either the DH or WH lists.
And finally, you cannot have SM, IG, and either/both of DH/WH in a single army - no way to do it unless you use multiple FOCs, which requires your opponent's permission and is never tourney legal. So you may have IG with allied DH and/or WH, or SM with allied DH and/or WH, but never IG and SM in the same army at once.
It's possible to do a base DH army with inducted IG *or* SM and allied WH (or a WH army with inducted IG *or* SM and allied DH) as well, but it follows slightly different rules which severely limit which IG or SM units you may use. If you like the cooler SM or IG options, use one of those as your base army with allied DH/WH.
Ok so is a DH/WH army tournament legal? I have been told that it is not legal with the standard GW tournament pack.