Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi, I am hoping some nice kind person can explain how Grand Master invulnerability works. I have read the rules in the W40k rule book but do not understand it at all
All I think I get is that nothing can harm him unless the AP is less then or equal to his Sv, then he roles his invulnerable save.
Is that right or not? Someone please explain!
I'm new to WH40K too, so i don't quite understand all the rules yet... (no one teaches me .. the players here are mean.. they yell everytime you ask something) .. i'm collecting a pure GK army .. well..about the save.. this may be too noob from me, but isn't an invulnerable save the one you take when your armor doesn't count? .. like in termi armor, don't you take the 5+ save coz the weapon str doubles ur toughness, or something like that? ... sorry if i'm mistaken.. i juz want to try to help
Well, basically, you use an invulnerable save whenever a weapon would normally negate an armor save. So if a model with an invulnerable save is hit by a lascannon,whose ap ignores armor saves, the model still gets to use their invulnerable save, which is usually worse than the armor save. Same thing applies to power weapons, rending hits, etc... You cannot however, roll an invulnerable save after failing an armor save from a normal hit. Think of the invul save as kindof like a moving cover save, in that it is never modified, and can't be negated (except by a few daemonhunter weapons like psycannons)Not neccessarily, just because a weapon is double a targets strength doesn't mean that it automatically ignores armor saves, though many weapons that have a S8 or higher do ignore armor saves anyway, this is due to their ap value, not strength.don't you take the 5+ save coz the weapon str doubles ur toughness
BTW, a Grandmaster isn't the only guy in the army who has an invul save. Brother captains, terminators, assassins, and anything with icon of the just or terminator armor gets one.
Hope I cleared this up enough.
Last edited by JuliusGaiusCaesar; June 2nd, 2006 at 00:57.
Et imperator Invocato Diabolus Daemonica Exorcist!
Thanks to both of you for replying. I think it did clear it up, so thanks for that . I was playing against by brothers new chaos army and we just didn't understand the invulnerable saves as the only thing he had which would penertrate a GM was 'Chaos Spawn'. So he was shooting at me with normal bolters and nothing was happening because the GM is invulnerable.
Well, the gm has 2 saves, a 2+ normal termie save and a 5+ invulnerable save, if the ap of the weapon is 2 or lower, the gm cannot use his termie save, anly the invulnerable save will work. Laets say a bolter wounds a GM, he takes his normal save because the bolter has ap 5 and cannot penetrate his termie armour, therfore, he gets his 2+ save. On the other side, lets say a lascannon hits the gm and wounds him, the lascannon is ap 2, so the termie save (2+) is useless; therefore, the gm will need to take his invulnerable save (5+). Invulnerable saves are used INSTEAD of your normal armour save. You cannot do your regular save and your invulnerable save if you are hit by something. and wounded and required to make a save. It seems to me its pretty clear in the rulebook :hmm:
The gold grey knight man. These are hardy men who like cheese.
Ever thought of how cheese was found?:
`` I say sah, the milk in this barrel smells foul!``
``Oooohhh, give it a go!``
''Quack, damn you!''
-Jamie heinamen, Mythbusters.
The rulebook states that a model should always use the best save available to it, whether it's an armour save, invulnerable save, or cover save. A model can have any combination of them -- sometimes even all three. Just use whichever one is the best one available.
Let's say you have a terminator behind a wall (4+ cover save) and he's struck with a lascannon. Which save do you use?
The lascannon is AP 2, so the terminator's armour save isn't available, leaving the cover save and invulnerable save. The cover save is better than the invlunerable save, so that's the one the model uses.
If the terminator was out in the open and struck by a lascannon, then the best save available is the 5+ invulnerable save.
In all cases, a model can make no more than a single saving throw to prevent a wound. Once the appropriate save is chosen and rolled, you must live with the result.
Last edited by number6; June 5th, 2006 at 21:20.
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
Thanks for all the replies back guys. I was reading the rule book but just did not get it for some reason. Now it has been explained, it does make complete sence!