Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Yesterday I played a guy and we were both using IG and he had a hellhound. Now the problem I had was when he fired he said you could place the flame template anyway you wish to cover the soldiers including horizontaly. He said he could do this becaus it did not mention which way the template had to face.
So All I want to know is was he simply exploiting the rules becasue of the fact it wasnt mentioned?
Also reading the rule book later I saw that template weapons had to have the small end, at the tip of the firers gun so I was also wondering would this rule also apply to the Hellhound?
Last edited by box; June 4th, 2006 at 13:04.
Nope, he has to place the template so it covers as many models as possible. I would assume this means turning it so that there are the most number of models covered.
The hellhound doesn't fire in the same way as normal flamers either. It spurts prometheum upwards in an arc and this then falls onto the unit. So, in fluff terms, the smallest part of the template needn't be towards the turret.
Archaon's Top Tip for profiting from the End Time: Pillage before you burn
When I say jump you don't ask me 'How high?' maggot! You jump!
Yeah, it doesn't specifically say that you have to have it placed as realistically as you might think. That and the fact that you have to cover the most models pretty much means you can place it however you want as long as all of it is within range.
Originally Posted by The Paint Monkey