Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Me and my friend got into an argument because he disagrees that my SoB multi-melta was suppose to hit his Predator's side armor. Here is a picture link with 3 examples (squad A, B, and C), please explain at which situation would you be able to hit the tank's side armor?
And also, we would like to know about the rule for assaulting troops behind covers. The rulebook says to draw a line from the position of assault to the target unit being assault to see if the target count as behind cover.. is it from the starting movement point? or from the point which it starts assaulting after movement? Here is another picture link showing a squad of jump assault charging my SoBs.
Going from left to right: The first A arrow could hit the side, and C arrow could hit the side. Simply put 90 degree arcs for the vehicles sides, if the LOS for the shot against the vehicle is on the 'line' than take the higher armour value for the attack. Since C arrow and the first A arrow have clear LOS to the side arc of the vehicle, the can fire on the side armour.
For the second question:
The way the picture shows it, the assaulters would not count as assaulting an enemy in cover. If they had assaulted so they would have to climb over the cover to get to the sisters than they would count as charging into cover.
Take my love, take my land, take me to where I cannot stand; I don't care I'm still free, you can't take the sky from me.
"The difference between gods and daemons largely depends upon where one is standing at the time."- Lorgar
Member of the Fluff Masters Clan
For the first question, it is hard to tell, but they way do it this:
Take a tape measure, string, (or like a dude in our gaming group) a laser pointer, and make a line from the tip of the gun barrel through the closest front corner of the target tank and keep going all the way through the vehicle. If the back corner of the vehicle is on the same side as the front, then it is a front armor shot. If the opposite corner is on the same side as the rear of the vehicle, then it is a side armor shot.
The second question, is that it is definatly no cover for the squad being assaulted. You assault from where you move to, not where you were.
Hope this helps.
"A love for tradition has never weakened a nation, indeed it has strengthened nations in their hour of peril."
Sir Winston Churchil
OHHH I got it, thanks alot for clearing things up for me
Good idea on the drawing line through the vehicle thingy!
Last edited by nekochen; June 5th, 2006 at 18:51.
Using the drawing from the rule book for armor values (p65), I did the same for your drawing.
All three groups are in the front quadrant of the tank, and therefore I would assume all three would have to defeat the front armor. If squad C was farther "north", then they would get a side armor shot.
Overall, Diggums' explanation may be easier in the long run to use.
About the LOS, all sisters are in the front arc, look at SentryKiller drawing, he is right.
For the cover in assault, I would count the position where the figs are starting the assault itself, not the start of movement.