Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Before this is read, gotta say its probably a dumb idea and even a dumber question, but I've always wanted to try something like this. Lets say I have a captain in terminator armor with a power weapon, for his ranged weapon is it possible to give him an assault cannon? Yes its dumb but I think it would be a good combo, I'd lose the extra attack I would get from having a Storm Bolter(I think that gives them an extra attack in cc) but I would have 4 shots every turn with this guy. There isn't an option for equipping assault cannons from the wargear page but if I used a fair amount of points that me and my opponent agreed upon would it work? If this doesn't make any sense then just disregard me, I'm just messing around with my army list.
I think it's not legal to do that.
And even if you and your opponent agree on doing it, i don't think it would be a good idea, it would be better to give the Termi Chap, a Termi Squad, with 2 AC and 3 Normal ones (if you want to shoot) or 2 HW and 3 Sets of Claws? (dunno if legal) ..
Well.. that's what I think, many probably disagree
Nami kotogotoku, waga tate to nare. Ikazuchi kotogotoku, waga yaiba to nare.
Nope sorry, there's no way to give a terminator HQ an assault cannon. It would certainly be good if you could do it though, as a storm bolter doesn't give you an extra attack anyway.
"You challenge me knowing that I am Xiahou Dun!?"
Thanks guys, just wanted to find out if anyone thought it was a cool idea like me atleast.
Agree you cant give a terminator captain an assault cannon, but what about the sergeant ? If you are after a power sword and assaut cannon combination to avoid striking last in close combat, this is the way to go. I've checked the rules and i'm pretty sure you could do this. Your original idea sounds like a cool model, shame its out of bounds.
Jager bombs. Very efficient at wiping out friend or foe.
I've been told ad nausem that a Sergeant can NOT be chosen to carry a Special or Heavy Weapon unless it is a Combi-Weapon available through the Wargear. They are more concerned with leading the squad then shooting a specialized weapon.Originally Posted by praxis
You know it's a shame you can't but here's something you can do... I've put a plasma
pistol on my terminator Capt. It gives him an extra attack and packs a real punch! If it
over heats you always roll a 2+ and it's very rare you'll miss that.
no, you cannot give a termie a pistol weapon of any kind. They do not have an asterisk beside them in the armoury list. The only way you can give any termie a weapon with plasma is if you give him a bolter-plasma combi weapon, and you can only give them to Sgts and ICs.
Mysterious Member of the ANZAC Clan
Yep mpdscott, and in addition it should be pointed out that combi-weapons do not confer an extra attack.
Dreadnought6107 why can't you just field the guy with a Termie Command squad, that way you get the assault cannons anyway? Then just give him an addditional power weapon for that additional attack. SM HQs are really for close combat so forget about making him shooty.
Last edited by zuriel; July 11th, 2006 at 13:48.
Keeper of the Dark Fortress
Member of the Inner Circle
Current armies: Deathwing and Grey Knights (I'd have more if my wife would let me)
OOPS!!!! My bad! I didn't even think to look. :blush: Well, just a little cut here....They do not have an asterisk beside them in the armoury list.
and a little glue there.... all better!