Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've searched the forums for it, and I couldn't figure it out from the codex's - Do you need a Ordo Malleus Inquisitor (DH) to take daemon hosts or would one of the WH's Order Hereticus Inquisitors do the job? Because the descrip just says inquisitor, I'd rather not have to burn an HQ slot on one and I'm limited to one ally elite choice. So I was wondering if I would be fine taking a WH Inquisitor as an elite, and giving him control of the daemon hosts.
Thanks in advance.
Well, as I see it, when doing allies there are 2 seperate lists, the Parent list (in your case, the WH list) and the allied list (Your DH units) so, seeing as they are technically 2 seperate lists working together, so in your example, you'd need a DH =][= to have Daemonhosts.
IMO, AFAIK, there isn't a GW ruling on this, but I may be wrong.
You need a DH Inquisitor (OM) to take Daemonhosts.Originally Posted by vin
Thanks for the quick responces, guess I'll have to be giving up a Cannoness. I like the reasoning Mike, though if anyone does know the official answer I wouldn't mind hearing it.
Alternitively, although I assume the same answer, could my DH =][= count for the inquisitor requirement of the assasins? It seems a little fairer as both WH and DH can take them with their inquisitors but I am still only allowed one ally elite choice, so the sin would technically have to be WH (The elite slot being filled by the hosts) and thus it more or less falls back down to the same ruling as before I think. I realize that I could play a radical DH/WH but I don't really feel like giving up my exorcists among other things, and if I play WH/DH it irks me to take 2 inquisitors. Thinking about it I don't mind so much not taking a second cannoness, but the 2nd =][= is a waste as I don't have the points to equip him and while 20 points isn't that bad the daemonhosts cost alot to begin with.
Partially on topic, Do people find demonhosts work well with WH? I wish their attacks counted as power weapons but other then that I like them. I play somewhere inbetween friendly and competitive usually, so while I do enjoy the fun of them I want them to be preformers too.
Last edited by vin; July 9th, 2006 at 21:35.
We had the same question some time ago and the conclusion of the topic was that there is no official ruling on that, but it only seems fair to include DH =][= if you want DH units that require his presence...
Well if you were to have 1 Cannoness (HQ1) and 1 DH Inquisitor (HQ2) then that would allow you to take daemonhosts from the DHs... now unlike the daemonhosts (which DO require a DH inquisitor rather than WH inquisitor) noone stops you from putting in an assassin from YOUR parent list slots... because an assassin (as it is written) requires an INQUISITOR present not one necessary from your army...
In any case I find the daemonhosts interesting but I play puritan so I cant have them... still why not just take your own Archoflaggelants which can function in the same way? Remember the Daemonhosts are -a- unpredictable -b- can make your own troops flee and -c- dont have any special weapons... just using their hands and high strength while Archos have power weapons!!!
That was what I was thinking, but as far as I can tell neither elite actually detail's which list is required for the inquisitor, it just seemed a little more reasonable because both can take 'sins and only DH should get the hosts.Originally Posted by Arcona
As for why the demonhosts: I don't wish to take a priest (and I want an assassin so I need an inquisitor anyway). Plus they can deepstrike, saving me the effort of running them across the board. Both archos and the hosts are a gamble, but atleast the hosts can't kill themselves. (Granted I enjoy the risk with them either way) I like archos too, but the more and more I read on here people don't put much stock in either.
I might end up not running them at all, or perhaps have em to swap out depending on the game, and what the rules are; the original thought was I could get away with spending 20 pts on an elite WH =][= for both my assasin and the hosts, Now it's looking more like a min of 63pts for a stripped DH =][= Lord (45 + 3 familars, need 3 hench) and I don't feel that shooty or any kind of =][= Squads are all that fantastic. But I welcome any other suggestions or Idea's
well the assasin is okay as any inquisiter can acquire them but for daemonhosts you MUST have a daemonhunter inquisiter it is just common sense cus a whitch hunter inquisiter 1, wouldn't make em even a radical wh would never do anything like that and 2, he would not know how wh areas of expertise lie in psyker directions not daemons
"take my love, take my land, take me to where i cannot stand, i don't care i'm still free you can't take the sky from meee" ;- firefly
"i'm gonna grant you your greatest wish i'm gonna show you a world without sin" ;- serentiy
"I am a leaf on the wind, watch how i soar" ;- serenity
Personally I have found that the Shooty Inquisitor is very very usefull... at least in my DH army where strong weapons are not that often...
The way I kit them is Inquisitor with Psycannon (thus 3 str 6 shots hitting on 2+ and ignoring invernarables) 2 with Heavy Bolter and 1 with Plasma Cannon... (though I some times give 1 a multi-melta cause dreads come for them). Okay granted thats 95 points for the retinue and another 75 for the inquisitor but its pretty good. Then give em 3 acolytes with just bolters and perhaps 2 sages and you are set... you have 5 models to soak up wounds (if you have points also get a mystic and a familiar). It work really well if you put them in elevated positions in Cityfight... I mean everyone gets a 4+ cover save and you still have 5-7 models to just kill off before you need to lose anyone important.
Certainly its pretty costly but it has done really well by me... (this unit actually killed a wraithlord on round 1 against eldar so thats almost all their point worth right there!)
If you are taking a WH army, you can take DH as allies. But keep in mind this restricts you to 0-1 HQ and 0-1 Elite choices. That means you couldn't take both Daemonhosts and Assassins (that's more than the 0-1 choices you have available).