Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
is the +2 strength given by the nfw to the character or to the weapon. if your gk is also armed with, for example, a lightning claw, does the +2 also applies to lc attacks?
it gives 2+ strength to your character(in my knowledge0 and how can one wear lightning claws AND NFM? o.O
well, if it's an aspiring champion or termie hero, for example. One lc in the left hand, one nfw in the right.
I believe that the bonus only goes to the weapon attacks. For example, if you use hammerhand with a nfw you dont get to double the strenght 6, only your basic strength.
Gk in power armour can only choose items from the wargear list. So Justicar's can't be given lightning claws. But the GM and BC can. But he doesn't get the +2 stre if he uses another weapon. (you can give him a weapon and choose to use either or during combat.) So in short can't use lightning claws and get the +2 stre bonus.
The NFW give the bonus to strength, not to the GK. Therefore if you dont have a NFW as in the case of a GK armed with a psycannon, then you loose the bonus to strength with returns to a 4.
on a standard GM with multiple attacks in the profile, do all the attacks in the profile receive the +2, then you ADD to the profile lesser S attack from the storm bolter for true grit/two cc weapon attacks at character strength, or strom bolter strength? It happens that both are the same, just curious which is actually used.
Then, if you gain an attack through charging, is it at the +2, since that would be a NFW strike?
My final thought. True Grit appears to be the same as two cc weapons in the rule book. It's just that the storm bolter isn't truely a cc weapon, just that GKs can handle it that way. So... if you charge, you don't get true grit, HOWEVER, if you charge and get into base to base, do you gain the +1 attack for having an extra cc weapon? my guess is no, since it's not actually a cc weapon, it's just that the skills of the GK allow them to wield it in that way? It's a little strange since the storm bolter isn't a cc weapon, but in the hands of GKs it is. right?
oh, thanks for the help on this forum, it's a great 40k site.
Any and all attacks are made with 1 weapon, always using the model's stats plus any bonuses from weapons/wargear.
You never use a weapon's strength value in close combat.
For GK, I'm not sure what the wording for their true grit is, but I think you get +1 attack with the storm bolter for being double armed, however you would not gain a +1 attack for charging.
Ze titles yez...
When in doubt,
Smite.<SilverMane> I would trust BID with my life
<SilverMane> HEIL BID!
<Adrian-> BiD is Omnipotent; All Knowing, All Powerful!
<Scary_Troopers> I see you as an optimist, GT. : D
But what of the midgets!?
=]Front in favour of Moderation of the Harshest kind.[=
Ok guys. I am here to solve all your questions about the close combat / true grit questions that come up everywhere about Grey Knights.
I've played pure Grey Knights for almost a year now, and everything I'm about to say has been confirmed by the local GW store I go to and the Rulez Boyz.
True Grit only applies to Grey Knights in Power Armor, if they have a Storm bolter.
So only the Justicar, and regular Grey Knights get true grit. The Grey Knight Psycannon and Incinerator models only get their basic strength and only gain the +1 attack on the charge.
So, the Justicar will ALWAYS get 3 Power attacks in CC and regular grey knights with Storm Bolters ALWAYS get 2 attacks, whether they charged or not.
Another thing, Terminators DO NOT HAVE TRUE GRIT. It would be nice to get 3 Attacks all the time with their nice power weapons but sorry, only on the charge do GK Termies get 3 attacks and if they don't charge they get 2.
All Grey Knights have the +2 Strength if they have a NFW, including the GM, BC, Justicar, and regular grey knights. So the only expection are those grey knights with psycannons and incinerators.
I hope this puts this issue to rest because a lot of people are still confused about it. All of the above is clearly explained in the Deamonhunters codex, so please read it.
The wording for GK True Grit is,
"Grey Knights have the True Grit ability when armed with storm bolters, enabling them to use them in close combat like lesser creatures would use pistols. This means they gain the bonus attack dice for being armed with an additional close combat weapon, providing they have not charged in the same assault phase. This rule only applies to Grey Knights in power armor."
So, if the GK in power armor charge they do technically get the +1 A to charging, but temporarily lose the +1 A for True Grit. So basically, GK in power armor always have 2 A (3 for Justicar). Of note, if you give your GK Hero articifer or power armor (replacing his terminator armor) he gains the True Grit ability.
That leads to an interesting question. GK Heroes have Terminator Armor giving terminator honors (according to the Armory entry). If they replace their terminator armor with power armor, do they keep the terminator honors and so actually GAIN and attack with True Grit?
I also like the whole wording "like lesser creatures would use pistols" haha :lol: