Game over too soon? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member C'Tan Pooky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    333
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    Game over too soon?

    I was playing someone at my local GW recently and we came across a small problem. This was the situation: They had a squad of CSM termies in reserve waiting to come onto the board. It was now turn 4 and they hadn't turned up (bad dice rolls on his half). I had managed to kill off the rest of their army that was on the board, (go Black Templars! :w00t: ) so there was nothing left except for the remainder of my army and their termies that hadn't come down yet. Someone in the background said that they lose automatically since they had nothing left "on the board". My opponent and I both thought that was wrong, but then some staff members supported the idea that my opponent lost since they had nothing on the board. We agreed to keep going and let his CSM come down, (which were then cleaned up by my army).

    So, who's right? Did they loose for not having anything on the board dispite having reserves?

    Black Templars 3000 points
    Tau Empire 1750 points
    Tyranids 1500 points

    Hordes of Chaos *Coming soon*

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Nah, the game goes on. Imagine a drop pod army in an escalation game. Do they automatically lose? No. The rules do not support it.

  4. #3
    Member GreyKnight6962's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Age
    26
    Posts
    242
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    i agree with the post above. what if an IG drop troop army was being played, no models would start on the field. by the way, right or wrong, you were right to let your opponent keep playing. good job!

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    As a side note, the ruling about no models = you lose is a holdover from some tournaments, and is known as sudden death. It's one of those mission parameter type rules. I've seen a discussion about this in the rules help section before.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Deek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Beecher Illinois
    Age
    28
    Posts
    975
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x2)

    Yes this type of rule is used in gaming groups to do several things.
    1 they make games shorter
    2 they make people think twice about taking heavy amounts of drop troops.

  7. #6
    Senior Member C'Tan Pooky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    333
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Deek
    Yes this type of rule is used in gaming groups to do several things.
    1 they make games shorter
    2 they make people think twice about taking heavy amounts of drop troops.
    why would taking lots of drop troops be a bad thing? i'm not asking tactics wise (obviously) but why would that be a bad thing with a gaming group/ tourny?
    Black Templars 3000 points
    Tau Empire 1750 points
    Tyranids 1500 points

    Hordes of Chaos *Coming soon*

  8. #7
    Member easyco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Exeter, England
    Age
    31
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    The reserves are still on their way even if everyone else dies, but when the 6 turns are up (if you are playing that way) they obviously cant, Summoned creatures that require a marker on a certain model cannot be summoned onto the board if the marker model is off the board. (i'm sure everyone knows that anyway):blink:
    One is not to question why, but to do and die.

    Thou shalt not stick a 'Honk if you think I'm sexy' bumper sticker on a Sister's rhino.

    Click this link to read about REAL drop podding U.S Marines!!

  9. #8
    KITTENS GIVE MORBO GAS! theyak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    3,922
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    385 (x8)

    I had brought up "sudden death" type rule in the rules section. And now you're proof that this rule had been around somewhere somehow and I'm not (completely) crazy.

    The "rule" in question is not about drop podding/deepstiking armies, since their whole force STARTS off of the board, but rather armies with reserves that don't make it on the board in time, and their host army gets wiped out.

    But no, I've looked and scowered the rule book for this and there is nothing about this in the current rules set. pg 14 of the main rules book clearly outlines the actual ending conditions for a game and nowhere in it does it mention battle field presence as a requirement.
    The closest thing I can think of is that this was a house rule that got spread around to a number of stores and were implimented.

    hope this helped.
    W/D/L Eleventy trillion billion/NONE/ NONE - I am STILL rulezor!
    WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!

  10. #9
    is coming out to play The Toon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Age
    24
    Posts
    991
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    168 (x3)

    Thanks did all the typing for me.
    Quote Originally Posted by Rabbit
    Geez, toon, your avatar changes more than Bill Clinton's campaign platform.


  11. #10
    Dawn Under Heaven Triumph Of Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    MIA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,971
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    -170 (x0)

    Quote Originally Posted by Crusade
    Thanks did all the typing for me.
    Seen you do this a couple of times, you aren't supposed to post if someone has already said everything for you. With a message like that you'll just get burned as a spammer.


    Karmoon
    ... only triumph could turn pooing his pants into a good thing..

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts