One more Priest question (again): - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    The Biker Marine SmokWawelski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Crestwood, IL, USA
    Posts
    1,618
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    One more Priest question (again):

    Hi,

    I am considering an army setup for a CoD fight, and came upon my old "Celestians + Priest" topic here (which is too old to post in). As most fights will be resolved in CC on such small and heavily populated board, I am trying to maximize my CC potential (Inquisitorial Mandate is high on the list) and use any city-friendly gear... Just to clarify once more, I have this question to ask:

    Priest in a SOB squad prevents you from firing your Bolters because you know that you need to charge

    or

    Let's you fire them and grants you a "free charge" later on, because you "have to charge any enemy in range"?

    Wording is not definitive to me (English as a second language) :blush:


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot Lictor1989's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    In the middle of nowhere...or in other words Nebraska of the USA...
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,252
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    60 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by SmokWawelski
    Hi,

    I am considering an army setup for a CoD fight, and came upon my old "Celestians + Priest" topic here (which is too old to post in). As most fights will be resolved in CC on such small and heavily populated board, I am trying to maximize my CC potential (Inquisitorial Mandate is high on the list) and use any city-friendly gear... Just to clarify once more, I have this question to ask:

    Priest in a SOB squad prevents you from firing your Bolters because you know that you need to charge

    or

    Let's you fire them and grants you a "free charge" later on, because you "have to charge any enemy in range"?

    Wording is not definitive to me (English as a second language) :blush:
    To my knowledge it says you always count as moving so only 12" range on your bolters. But if you are withing chargeing distance you cannot use your rapid fire weapons (thus can't use bolters but could use flamers). So no shooting rapid fire weapons and chargeing.
    Is it me or does any other necron player get annoyed when they see people saying "Necrons eat souls". How is that even possible as souls are part of the warp and necrons want nothing to do with it? Eh probaly me just me being picky.

    Anime Clansmen

    Tyranid Hivemind Member

  4. #3
    The Biker Marine SmokWawelski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Crestwood, IL, USA
    Posts
    1,618
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    I see... Still I was kind of hoping that the "must charge" attack is an extra one taken into consideration at the assault phase, regarles of what was happening in the shooting phase...

    Not good...

  5. #4
    LO Oldie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    1,248
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    34 (x3)

    well, technically, there is nothing that prevents you from firing them. however, even though his rules say you must charge in the assault phase then you obviously cant cuz you shot. its a little cheat around the rules
    2000pts Orks 4-2-1

  6. #5
    Senior Member The vampire Lestat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Age
    29
    Posts
    260
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    17 (x1)

    You could remain 7"-12" away from the enemy thus allowing a rapid fire without forcing a charge. The rules say you must charge if there is an enemy is reach, it does NOT say you must use your movement to become in reach.

  7. #6
    The Biker Marine SmokWawelski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Crestwood, IL, USA
    Posts
    1,618
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    Quote Originally Posted by The vampire Lestat
    You could remain 7"-12" away from the enemy thus allowing a rapid fire without forcing a charge. The rules say you must charge if there is an enemy is reach, it does NOT say you must use your movement to become in reach.
    True, but that opens you up for a messy counterassault. My thinking was that his rule states that you "must charge", but it does not say "you cannot fire because you have to charge" if enemy is in range.

    In that light Priest is really not suited for anythig but Repentia. I would like to know what an official GW response to that would be...

  8. #7
    The Shadow Knows! Jon Quixote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Dis (geddit?!)
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,590
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    467 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by SmokWawelski
    In that light Priest is really not suited for anythig but Repentia. I would like to know what an official GW response to that would be...
    Why don't you ask them?
    Cervantes: In order to attain the impossible, one must attempt the absurd.


  9. #8
    The Biker Marine SmokWawelski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Crestwood, IL, USA
    Posts
    1,618
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    I guess that I had to do the right thing - call GW Mail Order :yes:
    Official verdict (per Mark): No shoting your bolters girls!

  10. #9
    Member cheese58's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    163
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    This was on an FAQ, I think on the GW 40K forums. You cannot fire your bolters if within charge range.

  11. #10
    Senior Member micah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    panama city, fl
    Age
    34
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    10 (x1)

    its on GW's main page, the updated 40k faq. i posted it here a while ago and hurt some feelings lol
    leave the moderating to the moderators

    if pro is the opposite of con, does that mean progress is the opposite of congress?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts